We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real Spain”
Review of Malaga Tapas

Malaga Tapas
Ranked #18 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: We are close to Shield Road Underground station and Bus services run to/from City Centre to Pollokshaws Road and Pollokshields East Train Station.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is the real Spain”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I visited Malaga Tapas again last week and this time took my father who has lived in Spain for many years but hasnt been back for some time. I was hoping to cheer him up a little and suggested Malaga Tapas. He told me that it couldnt possibly be as authentic as a Spanish restaurant in Spain. Of course when we got there and he was welcomed (for his first time) like a long time customer by Cristobal and his fantastic staff, he immediately warmed to the place. He didn't realise almost all the staff were real spaniards and he was even more delighted when he was served the food. The mussels were so fresh and delicious; the rabbit tapa devine and the tortilla con espinacas was simply fantastic. My father loved it and cant get back there quick enough. Great food, fantastic staff and a truly authentic ambiance. Well done Malaga Tapas. Cant wait until I get back to the UK

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    110
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic wee place”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After a visit to Barcelona I really enjoyed the whole Tapas way, felt this wee place was really authentically spanish and food was great, a very warm welcome from Christo who is a great waiter and was great at recommending what foods to go for, of course the beer was a great choice too ice cold and there're was plenty of it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoeatout29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A new tapas restaurant to give Tinto tapas some competition”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The food here was very good, and the owner gave us such a warm welcome as he remembered us from his days at Battlefield Rest. Thought that might result in a free drink...but that never happened. However the atmosphere was great and as long as you dont get a seat near the toilets (they simoly have to block these off with a screen), then you will thoroughly enjoy a visit tothis place...if you like Tapas. The butterflied king prawns in batter, with sweet chilli dipping sauce were simply a joy, but all the portions were superb.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerryCampbell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre for two”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Go before 6:30 Sunday to Thursday and the tapas at £2.95 each so a meal for 2 with drinks under £20. Had Spanish tortilla, pork, chicken paella, chicken in oregano sauce and beef. All arrived quickly, we're warm, tasty and served by really friendly staff. We didn't eat the beef as it was a bit rich and creamy (personal taste) and when we asked for the bill they had taken it off along with the drinks, totally unexpected but appreciated. Staff and food make this place, tables are a bit cramped so wouldn't like to be in here when it's full but I suppose that's what makes it feel authentic. Good for a tasty, good value pre-theatre, will return.

Helpful?
Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and i went for lunch on the Wednesday,enjoyed the six tapas we had and made a return trip on the Sunday and had six different tapas.Overheard a fellow diner saying he had tried most of the tapas restaurants in Glasgow and this was the best.Hard to disagree based on the quality of the dishes we sampled.Lamb,beef, chicken all beautifully tender.Memories of Spain when I had the gambas pil pil.Very,very reasonable prices at lunchtime.Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Malaga Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing