We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you really in Glasgow?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaga Tapas

Malaga Tapas
Ranked #13 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: We are close to Shield Road Underground station and Bus services run to/from City Centre to Pollokshaws Road and Pollokshields East Train Station.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Are you really in Glasgow?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a place! DONT be put off by the rather drab exterior. Cross the treshold and you are transported to Andalucia in an instant. SUPERB simple authentic Spanish tapas.
Paella is not something I usually order as can be dreadful, but our Japanese guests wanted it. After about 20 perfect tapas, the best pealla I have ever eaten came and ended a superb meal.
Attentive but not pushy staff. Great food and fantastic not expensive wine (4 bottles including fizz and a lovely red) less than £40 a head.
Hard to beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jaffa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    110
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
angler1angler1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On your MUST list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

If tasteful tapas with authentic Spanish derivations appeal to you- this place is a must. The atmosphere is appropriate without being tacky, the servers are delightful, and the owner went out of his way on a very busy evening to recommend items personally and also encourage use of our Spanish.
Now the most important stuff, the food. Each of the tapas dishes, the chorizo in red wine, rabbit in a cream sauce, were uniquely flavorful. The paella marina had an abundance of seafood items in a delicious rice bed, more than we could finish.
Prices are ultra reasonable, the bottle of Rioja was quality for value. This restaurants high rating is warranted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank angler1Angler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spanish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have lived just along the road for a couple of years, and finally got around to going...
Fantastic tapas food - a good range of fish/meat/veg tapas, great flavour and presentation; bargain lunchtime/pre-theatre offers.
Tables quite close together, but that seems to be because they can get so busy!
Good service.
Will be going back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eleanorgrinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just add sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

no need to go to Spain just visit Malaga Tapas. The feeling in the place is great, the decor is very authentic, the service is great and the food...exceptional. We had 7 or 8 tapas between 4 of us and only one of us wanted pudding afterwards. The dishes were all fantastic but the white fish (special I think) was amazing, we even asked for and got the recipe. The chef came and had a chat with us, this guy should be on television. The service was very good and the staff were efficient and friendly, Spanish with a real Glasgow warmth. We travelled up from Norfolk and the friends we were staying with were in on the secret of Malaga Tapas. From now on this will be a must visit when we come to Glasgow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food, relaxed no fuss restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Eat there last night, food was great and authentic. Slightly expensive but worth it. Wear layers it gets quite hot in there - must try the patatas gratinadas

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank burnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Malaga Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing