We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Cart

White Cart
Ranked #251 of 2,388 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Brew Pub, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The White Cart is a rustic pub grub establishment situated in the heart of busby serving fantastic meals at reasonable prices also have a fully licenced bar.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited The White Cart last night and felt i wanted to put a review on as the place has much improved under the management change about 18months ago.We live locally and have always been regulars ,but the couple who were running the place previously had lost a lot of local people due to poor service and their public bickering with each other...Children were also not made very welcome....
The place now has a completely different atmosphere .The manageress and her staff are very welcoming, children are also made very welcome and in fact she has had her license adjusted so children can stay in until 10pm when previously it was 8pm.The food and the service are fantastic and it was great to see so many local people have returned...We are so lucky to have this place on our door step...The new management deserve a big pat on the back for turning this place around.....We will be regular visitors with and without our children ....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lor0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    75
    44
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“More than just pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited the White Crat on Sunday evening and ordered the Roast dinner (sunday special) which did not disappoint. Much more than just pub grub as some of the reviews suggest. Although there are no kid meals or kid menu, they were able to accomodate or requests to substitute items (chips instead of veg or roast potatoes). The staff was friendly and the meanu and atmosphere is far superior to anything else in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weggees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“ok - pub food but better than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Better than average pub food. Burgers and mixed grill ok. Friendly service. I wouldn't usually choose somewhere like this, but for a large family group, some of whom are plain eaters, I hoped there would be something here that would be at least acceptable to everyone, which there was. My only real gripe was the price of the soft drinks - £3.80 for a coke - outrageous! So if you're driving, be warned! I'd stick to a jug of tapwater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjeanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Maybe they have a problem with colours..?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Certainly the outside of the restaurant is a most unattractive green colour. The colour of my friend's salmon was creamy white (while the others were nicely pink) but I'll get back to that.
Maybe they'll get back to me...? I emailed their Head Office almost 3 weeks ago and thought I would give them the opportunity to respond before penning this review, but... apart from a brief acknowledgement, I have heard nothing from them. Another example of bad customer service.
Anyway... four of us had Saturday lunch some 3 weeks ago. We were each reading the small lunch deals menu when the waiter came to take our drinks order. We were still reading the same same menu (this is important) when he came back with the drinks. The price of the main courses on this menu were £4.99, £5.99 or £6.99 and you could add a starter for £2, and / or a pudding for £2. The waiter told us that the soup was... whatever... (country vegetable, I think) and then said that the "recommended special" was Salmon. Now, there was no mention of a special on this menu, but I guessed that the price would be in line with the others (maybe £6.99). All four of us ordered the salmon and I was shocked to discover (later, when the bill came) that it was priced at £14.99! At the very least that was misleading, and at worst it was downright deceitful. However, being with friends, I didn't make a fuss.
As I said above, one of the salmon dishes was a distinctly different colour - off white, as opposed to pink. I went in search of the waiter, but found the manager who took it through to the chef. Incredibly, she returned a few minutes later and said that the chef said it was fine. It was cut from the same fish as the other three! Well... it didn't look fine, and after that all four of us were closely examining our meals. Now, it may be psychological, but we each felt a bit off-colour for the rest of the day.
Better to be safe than sorry, so we won't be returning. And that chef should learn to do the decent thing and get out of the kitchen to meet his customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant Chef”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner had the mixed grill. When it arrived he thought something smelled off - and it turned out to be the black pudding! He took one mouthful and realised it was rancid. When the waitress cleared the plates he told her that it was off and that she should let the chef know. She apologised and said she would let us know what the chef said. She came back a few minutes later to inform us that the chef said that the black pudding was NOT off. Unbelievable! The black pudding was stinking. My partner then asked to speak to the manager. When the manager came she told us that she was sorry and that the chef did not think that it was off but she then went on to tell us that they had not received their delivery that day! Further, they did not take the mixed grill off the bill. We will never go back. The waitress was very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at White Cart, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Angela S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the issues you received with the black pudding on your mixed grill, we have passed your comments to our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Cart also viewed

 

Been to White Cart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing