We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best meal I have had for a long time:)”

Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria
Ranked #149 of 2,592 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Getting to Barbarossa couldn’t be easier. Located within 2 minutes walk of Cathcart station, which itself is only a short journey from Glasgow Central station.
Description: Doors first opened in 2001, offering Glasgow's southside a high quality dining experience. With an extensive wine selection and a contemporary Scottish-Italian kitchen, there was enough to ensure everybody's palate was catered for.In 2008, Barbarossa extended with the opening of the Wine Bar area. A casual dining area for guests to enjoy the Italian grill & spuntini kitchen, sample one of the massive choices of wine by the glass, enjoy an espresso or make use of the private wine room for that special occasion.In May 2013, the evolution of Barbarossa continued. Changing with public demand and peoples change of dining habits, the restaurant and wine bar menus were both amalgamated, giving guests "the best of both worlds". Added to this was the vital ingredient of a new pizza section, overseen by a new pizza chef, Enzo, who arrived direct from the South of Italy
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We hadn't been here for a while and went for family dinner. Simply the meal was fabulous. My youngest son had one of the pizzas which he said was great (and the leftovers even better the next day!) My older son had the king prawn risotto which he loved, my husband had the fish stew and was moaning in pleasure and I had lobster ravioli - simply divine. The staff were great and extremely proud of themselves for being up for an award. Would recommend to everyone and we'll be going back soon:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vw2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbarossaManager, Manager at Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Vw2126,

Thank you for taking the time to review Barbarossa. We are glad to hear you made it back after a while bringing your family with you with great responses from all. Thanks to the support of our customers i can let you know we won our award back in November, so we will be looking to keep it this year coming.

We look forward to welcoming you all soon

Regards
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 235 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Used to come here on a regular basis at lunchtime until I moved job. Went back on way home one night and it was good to see that standards are still being maintained. Food is very nice, service is good and staff are very friendly. Always a pleasant experience. Will definitely go back and would recommend.

Thank CSG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbarossaManager, Manager at Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear CSG63,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you made it back after moving job, it's nice to see customers return that we havn't seen in a while and equally new faces.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited Barbarossa tonight for the first time even though we live 5mins from it and pass it regularly.

Found the staff/owner to be very pleasant and courteous. Very chatty but not overly and happy to amend anything on the menu to our taste. Both starters and mains were delicious. Sirloin & fillet steaks were cooked perfectly.

My husband is a head chef in an italian restaurant as well and can be very critical about his food but he really enjoyed his meal as well.

Beautifully decorated restaurant with a nice atmosphere.

Looking forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbarossaManager, Manager at Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Geri85,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such a positive experience here at Barbarossa, from the atmosphere to the service from our staff, we aim to make sure everybody leaves with the desire to return. Our chef's are more than happy to amend dishes either for customers requirements or wishes.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband again soon.

Regards
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visit this restaurant every so often and have always enjoyed the welcome, the atmosphere and the food. For years there were two parts, the upstairs and downstairs, a formal restuarant upstairs and an informal wine bar downstairs. There used to be two separate kitchens, chefs, staff etc, but over the last two years have merged these into one, closing the upstairs kitchen and enlarging the downstairs (probably in reverse order) so that the chef's quality and oversight can permeate both areas.
This used to have an effect on the prices as well, as the upstairs restuarant was more expensive, but the food was of good quality, and the wine bar menu favoured towards bar meals of burgers and fish & chips.
This merge has also had an effect on the menu, where there were different menus and specials, there is now one, with slightly larger choice and a variety to offer from fish & chips (still a favourite), through pizzas and Italian range of food to fine wines and steaks.
So tonight's visit was unplanned, just dropped in and Enzo found us a table for two and we arranged for a large glass of chilled Pinot Grigio and a draught Peroni beer to settle in.
For starters, Black Truffle and mushroom Ravioli looked and tasted as good as expected and my wife's toasted bread with oil & Balsamic was so large it was shared by both of us. It did require a complementary (but grudged) exchange of a little Ravioli to calm any grief.
The 'Surf and turf' for two was absolutely perfect, the bowl of chips to share and pepper sauce were excellent, but the 18oz steak was perfectly cooked, carved at the table onto two portions and served with succulent prawns on skewers for only £32. Where else could you get a lovely steak and Prawns main course for only £16 each?
The bill was around £50 for two well satisfied but hopefully discerning diners.
This restuarant is a favourite, you get a warm welcome from Enzo and you can eat as little or as much as you wish from a good range of choices to suit every budget. But that steak was beautiful and highly recommended. They use a farm at Girvan for their provisions of meat, who also supply some of the top restuarants in the west.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbarossaManager, Manager at Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear David T,

Thank you for your conclusive and extensive review of our place. We take pride in everything we do here, and having Enzo as the welcoming feature makes a great start to almost everybody's experience.
The dishes you mentioned are only a few of the favourites and specials we have on the menu every week. With the amalgamation of the two kitchens back in May 2013, we have received an abundance of positive feedback from our customers where they have a choice of what style of meal they wish to go for and where they can spend as little or as much as they like.

We hope to welcome you and your wife soon to try something new.

Regards
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I arrived, for the first time, at Barbarossa tonight with out two children in tow. We had no reservation or prior booking, we just happened to pass by and decided to give the place a go after hear good reviews from friends. We were dressed extremely casually and I was slightly worried that we would stand out or not be welcomed wheheartedly. I couldn't be more wrong!! As soon as we stepped through the door we were greeted instantly from a friendly member of staff. We were quickly seated and my children were made to feel extremely welcome. Such a great start after being dissapointed by so many other 'family friendly' establishments. We were quickly given menus and drinks and I was delighted to hear the staff actually acknowledge my children as diners. The food we ordered was absolutely spot on, and my only complaint would be that I couldn't decide what to order from the menu. I have scoured the Southside for a place like this and I'm glad we have found it. We will definitely return, well done to you all for showing passion in what you do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anniemags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbarossaManager, Manager at Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Anniemags1,

Thank you for your positive review of Barbarossa and apologies it has taken so long to respond. We are a family run and family friendly place which is why we feel children are as much a part of the dining experience as the adults.
Our passion is in making sure that every table leaves with a happy and memorable experience which you have kindly reviewed.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Regards
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Barbarossa Restaurant Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing