We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place to stay in the Glasgow area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amiad
2 reviews
“Absolutely the best place to stay in the Glasgow area”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My third stay at this wonderful friendly, home from home, comfortable guest house. It doesn't have fancy frills and you probably need your own transportation, although there is a convenient local train station nearby. But I would not consider staying anywhere else now on my frequent visits to Glasgow.
Last visit was with wife, a daughter and 3 granddaughters, all were delighted with the pleasant homely and friendly atmosphere of the Guest House .
Highly recommended.
Tom and Debby Berman (Kibbutz Amiad, Galil Elyon, Israel)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdebberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
206
73
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wick
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

First class accommodation, very clean, choice of breakfast, John the proprietor could not be more helpful. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in a very central and easy to get around area of Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickMandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed for only one night at the Glasgow, but wish we'd had the opportunity to stay longer. Due to evening flight, didn't arrive until quite late and we got lost driving in the city centre, but John the owner was very patient in directing us on the phone, and even took the time to give us a tour of the house when we finally arrived. Lovely room - spacious, very comfortable bed and wonderfully clean. Breakfast was hearty and well presented in a lovely bright and airy room. This is a top guest house and John is a great host.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseofElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I have been staying at the Glasgow guesthouse since June til present day (16/9/09) and wouldn't consider re-locating anywhere else within the city. The hotel is located on the south western side of Glasgow approx. 20mins to my office based in Bellshill (eastern Glasgow) and 20mins to Kilmarnock, and 30-40mins to the western coastline. The hotel is approx. 2mins walk from a large green field park called Bellahouston. The parks contains its own Art Museum, dry slope ski park, athletics track and leisure centre. The guesthouse is located near the famous Ibrox stadium home of the Glasgow Rangers, golf and rugby club. The guesthouse is located close to the motorway (M8) network system approx. 400m away (for travelling both east and west), bus stop, train station and tube station which can guests links to all parts of the city and further field within Scotland.

I have found the guest house to provide excellent facilities including cooking area, large relaxing lounge area (homely), conservatory, car parking and patio terraced area (great for drinks in the evening time, to relax and socialise with fellow guest), all rooms are immaculately clean, great breakfasts served daily by a ‘lively’, friendly host (John) who will cater for any occasion.

The host welcomes all visitors from all parts of world, who speak highly of the guesthouse and staff within. I would highly recommend this establishment for all stays varying from business / social trips (TIP: book well in advance), the guesthouse can cater for all from single to large groups.

Thanks John it’s a credit to ya!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Earlier this year I was looking for a venue to hold a small wedding reception for family and friends. My sister who stayed at the glasgow guest house earler this year,
suggested I get in touch.

Once I spoke to the owner I knew I had found my venue.A few days later I visited the Guest house and a gain I was not disappointed. Instantly I was made to feel so welcome. The place was immaculate and of an exceptionally high standard. Large spacious rooms with not a thing out of place.Although there is one room that deserves a special mention and thats the cabin.Its the smallest of all the rooms (single) in the heart of the house,a room full of character.

A few days prior to the big day,my wedding party arrived at the guest house. Again we were made to feel so welcome.The owner(John) even offered the use of his own car to carriage guests to and from the venues.Something thats missings from the large hotels." The personal touch."

On the day itself we couldn't have asked for more.A special day with much loved memories thanks to John and his team. Everyone had a great time and we would highly recommend you would consider the guest house the next time you visiting glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
823 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
829 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing