We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #3 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

What a find! This beautiful guest house owned & run by John is very well situated in Dumbreck near the train station & a short ride in to Glasgow central. Dumbreck is in the most beautiful part of Glasgow with enormous parks,historic homes & the world famous Burrell Art Collection...a great place to stay.
The Guest house is beautifully decorated & the rooms spacious, comfortable & elegant.
Breakfast was wonderful...especially the fruit platter.Nothing was too much trouble for John & James (his staff) and their enthusiasm for Glasgow is infectious.
Highly recommended & great value for money.

Room Tip: You could do no better in Glasgow than this beautiful guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kherbert2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 599 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Glasgow guest house is truly a gem in Scotland. John and his staff made us feel very welcomed and went above and beyond to ensure that we were comfortable. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. Breakfast was quite tasty and more than enough. It is situated close to Pollock Park and near the Dumbreck train stop which will take you to the city in minutes. I highly recommend this place to stay if you want that " home away from home " feeling. I hope to visit Scotland again some day and when I do, Glasgow Guest house will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisiRamjattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This has to be the best guest house, that i have had the pleasure to stay at.
Many brand name hotels should take note, at the genuine ethusiasm of our host John and his staff.
arrived on 23/5/14 for 2 nights, as we where attending a wedding, nearby.
The room we had was on the ground floor, very happy with style and cleanliness.
Breakfast was excellent, no complaints.
I fully recommend the glasgow guest house, for service, quality and value.
Dumbreck train station short walk away, bus stop ouitside property and motorway connections 1 minute away, could not ask for more.
Thanks john for a pleasant stay and rememeber to book a holiday, you deserve it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank douglaspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Glasgow Guest House regularly over a period of nearly 5 months and although I’m not an experienced traveller, I can only say my stay at the Glasgow Guest House was excellent and I would recommend it wholeheartedly to everyone.
John and his staff cannot do enough to accommodate their guests’ needs and are always willing to go the extra mile. The rooms are always spotlessly clean with facilities to suit every guest.

Room Tip: Any rooms that you can get as John is normally fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

John continues to provide a warm welcome and a high standard of accommodation. The breakfast is of a high standard. Secial diets are catered for - you only have to ask and John will do his best to provide it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Guest House is currently ranked #1 in Glasgow on Tripadvisor, and we chose it partly for that reason and partly because we needed to be in that area. John, the owner, could not be more helpful or obliging, and he certainly makes his guests feel extra welcome. It is situated in a very nice area just on the edge of Bellahouston Park, and within 6 minutes of the City Centre. An excellent choice of breakfasts is included in the price. As the address implies it is situated right on Dumbreck Road, and anyone sensitive to traffic noise should beware. On our second night we opted to keep the windows shut, which made it hot but quieter. Our room was adequate but rather dark, and the bathroom has a swivel door which offers little privacy, and an open plan shower which was suitable for the disabled. All in all, it is a very well run no frills operation but does it deserve this ranking?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here en route to john o'groats. This building is big and beautifully furnished. The room I had was massive and so too was the TV. Not only was there a guest lounge but also a guest kitchen where you could prepare meals if you didn't want to go out. Meals are served in a beautiful big and bright conservatory. John, the host gave me a brilliant welcome and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
886 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
369 reviews
The Parkville Hotel
#6 of 35 in Glasgow
111 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $83 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing