We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcoming service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We've just had a couple of nights here for a family wedding at the House for an Art Lover which is just five minutes walk away. We stopped in the family 'apartment' which was great with two young kids, loads of space and a decent sized kitchen. However, the thing that sets this place apart is the friendly and professional service that we received from James and John. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Glasgow!! Thanks

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 590 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

We are regular visitors to Glasgow Guest House and like all the regular guests we have met we are great fans . We spent four days there in early December. John is a great host and goes several miles extra if necessary to facilitate guests. James, his Housekeeping Manager( and specialist in Glasgow humour) makes sure that the high standard of cleanliness is maintained.
The Guest House is ideally placed for easy public transport access to the city (by bus or train). It is 5 minutes walk from Bellahouston park that houses the Charles Rennis Mackintosh House for an Art Lover - well worth visiting.(Its daytime restaurant is superb) and 10 minutes walk from Pollack Park - a huge park including the Burell Collection Museum and a herd of Highland Cattle.
If you want to get off to a really good start each day then ask John for the fruit breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hi. I stay regular at the Glasgow Guest House. The last time i stayed at the Glasgow guest House most of the guests where returning guests. I really think that speaks volumes about the care and attention John, James & Mark gives to there guests. It is warm welcoming homely environment. How many Guest houses take the time to put a Christmas tree up?. As a Guest House from the welcome to the breakfast to the accommodation they just do it right. i will be back in the New Year for another stay & if you are going Glasgow give them a call. BH

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Welcomed by James, made to feel at home right away. Accommodation comfortable, warm and safe. Guest sitting room very pleasant indeed with, incidentally, the best decorated Christmas tree we have ever seen in real life. John makes sure everyone is well looked after and is a charming host. Travelling as a couple, but in relation to my wife's business. They could not have been more helpful with regard to providing space for her to prepare her (large) flower arrangements. Noted that an earlier reviewer mentioned the need for a blind in the bathroom - these have been fitted and privacy is just fine. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyberTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was absolutely first rate and the staff were so friendly and helpful. A full Scottish breakfast was a perfect pick-me-up in the morning. The location is great for Rennie Mackintosh's House for an Art Lover, set in the beautiful Bellahouston Park. I've payed two or three times as much for London hotels and not had such a good stay as I did at Glasgow Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill_John3_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Glasgow Guest House, very comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming. After a difficult drive out of Glagow from the Kelvingrove Museum, John told us to use the train to go into the city centre, Dumbreck Station is just five minutes walk away and a return ticket is £2. Glasgow is a great city to visit and Johns' local knowledge and enthusiasm for his home town took us to some great places. We walked to the Burrell Collection which took us about 30 minutes. The stunning House for an Art Lover is 5 minutes walk, and has a very good restaurant for lunch. Glasgow city centre is very attractive especially with it's Christmas lights, it also had a Christmas Market and outdoor ice rink so we choose a good time to visit.
We only decided to visit Glasgow because we wanted to see the Jack Vettriano exhibition, but we loved it and hope to return.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thanks so much to John for making this a wonderful overnight stay for us both, from the very moment we arrived to the very moment we left nothing was too much bother for him, room ( flat within guesthouse ) was spacious, spotless, warm and very well decorated. breakfast was spot on, plenty off parking, so no problems there either. altogether a superb place to stay if visiting Glasgow. no wonder this place has number one spot on Tripadvisor - 100% deserved !! thanks so much again john will certainly be back mate !! john and ang - Dunfermline.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
877 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing