We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lovelier spot for exploring Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Having now spent a night at the lovely Glasgow Guest House, I can only reiterate the other reviews - this is a GREAT spot to explore the city!
With the castle & Bellahouston Park (House for an Art Lover) literally around either corner, and a SUPER easy train only a couple blocks' walk that puts the urban Glasgow Central at your very affordable fingertips... oh, and not to forget John's hospitality (and, in my case, magnanimity and patience - TY!) You'll have such a lovely, relaxing time here - a taste of the country just steps from the city!
Enjoy!
PS - I had the BEST night's sleep here! The bed was SO cozy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malloyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 581 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here with 3 friends last weekend for the Glasgow Women's 10K. We always have fun and love the warmth and friendliness of the guest house. The rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfasts are delicious.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

very nice the room was very clean John the owner was very nice and made my husband and sons visit very comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ferralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We did not wish to stay in the city so Glasgow guest house was a real find between House for an Art Lover in Bellahouston Park and Pollok Park home to the Burrell Collection; both within walking distance. For the city there is a bus outside the house but the train seemed the quickest option for us (every 30 mins and just one stop directly to Glasgow Central). John is the host with the most and nothing is too much trouble for him and his staff. There is a guest kitchen where drinks can be made at any time and breakfast was exceptionally good; even including a healthy option of a fruit platter (see photo) that we had never been offered anywhere else. However, this would not stop one from enjoying a great Scottish breakfast if that was one's choice!
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here for the womens glasgow 10k run. John was extremely friendly and helpful and went out of his way to ensure myself and the other guests were very well looked after! Set in a beautiful suburb of glasgow right next to the parks. Ideal for the 10k. Would very much recommend this gorgeous house to stay in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachaelmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Glasgow Guest House was one of the best finds of our trip to Scotland. John went the extra mile to welcome us, helped us in our choice of attractions, and was available to us when we needed advice. the room was spacious, had a comfortable mattress, spotlessly clean bathroom, coffee and tea and biscuits in room and we enjoyed the wonderful full Scottish breakfast in the morning. We could tell he loved art as he had wonderful paintings throughout the house and the tourist family room was welcoming and comfy. We couldn't have asked for a better b&b. Would recommend him to anyone and will return there when we visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, warm, and are a welcome respite on your trip.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosecmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owens1966, Owner at Glasgow Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Wow... thank you so very much for the great review... I really appreciate the time and effort... John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My mother reserved the Glasgow Guest House apartment for me and my partner and our two kids. It was a perfect "flat" for our family, providing a room for the kids and one for us. The full kitchen allowed us to shop for the week and eat breakfast in each day, as well as the occasional dinner. Exceptionally clean space, with towel and linen service mid-week. John was exceptionally accommodating and very welcoming!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtnrunner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owens1966, Owner at Glasgow Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

I am so very glad you enjoyed your stay in the family apartment... Thank you for taking the time in posting a review... It means a lot to me, John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
860 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
869 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
771 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $82 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing