We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm & Character in the city centre”
Review of Adelaides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelaides
Ranked #10 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed in a family room with lovely high ceilings, plenty of central heating and a good spacious bathroom. The guest house is certainly not the newest or flashest but it makes up for that with the absolute charm of the building and the friendly staff at reception- hearing the Glasgow Mens Philharmonic choir having a practice was pretty special too. The guy at the front desk did an EXCELLENT Australian accent for you Aussies having trouble with broad Glaswegian- he was GREAT- recommended a top Indian restaurant for us too. This is a top place to stay if you are a family in the city looking for something with a bit of character- we loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyoglians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Adelaides
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 225 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2009

Having not visited Glasgow before, it was a real leap into the unknown, and I was extremely fortunate to have found a place as conveniently situated, cosy and well run as this.
The staff are marvellous and make a lone traveller feel extremely welcome, the rooms are a good size, and for the cost, are extremely comfortable, clean and considering the central location, quiet.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced, friendly, central and comfortable stay in Glasgow, look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

If, when traveling, it is important that you feel like the hotel is staffed by people you like to see and talk to, then Adelaides is the place for you. Ted, Janis, Helen; I feel like they are my good chums now, and that is not lessened by the fact that everybody who stays there feels that way. Warm, funny, sweet, REAL, they are ideal hosts for a stay in Glasgow. (It would be unfair at this point not to say that almost everyone you meet in Scotland seems to be that way, but I digress...) Not only that, the hotel is a wonderful home-base for the traveler who doesn't want to break the bank for a room. Very clean, lovely en-suite bathrooms, EXTREMELY comfortable beds (my 8 year old worried about ever finding a bed so comfortable again). Also, it's part of a larger complex that has a church / auditorium / concert hall. I can't say this will happen to everyone, but one of the nights we were there, there was a show with a Bagpiper and a choir. Lovely music filtered up to us, as though it were coming from the floor itself. It's only one of reasons that our stay at Adelaides was so magical. Thanks, Ted and Janis and Helen! Hope to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Think2MuchPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Loved Adelaide's. Located in a church, it's an unusual place. My room was the best of my trip: spacious, en suite, clean. One night I was lucky enough to watch choir practice on the floor below me, and heard a fabulous solo of Amazing Grace. Not an average thing for guests to do, but definitely a highlight for me. Staff is extremely nice and helpful in providing information about Glasgow. Rates okay for a city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This converted church ,a listed/heritage building is a wonderful place to stay,with lots of charater. its located on Bath street, very close to the centre of the city, the staff are extremly welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spacious and reasonably priced.

Thank elainik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank greentwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaides

Address: 209 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $54 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaides 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two star 8 bedroom guesthouse based in a Grade 2 listed building in Glasgow city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelaides Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing