We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, great location.”
Review of Adelaides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelaides
Ranked #10 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Adelaide's for three nights. The location is great for visiting the city with everything within walking distance, including the bus terminal and both train stations. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, one even following Carlton AFL Club, but had never been to Australia. The breakfast was very good with healthy choices, rooms are simple but very clean, good bed, all round excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inspectorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at Adelaide's for one night during a whirlwind weekend trip to Scotland. Rooms are simple and squeaky clean. The bathroom especially was beautifully renovated and spotless. Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The location is priceless, everything is in walking distance. Very comfy bed to sleep off my jetlag. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at this two-star B and B for two nights -- and found Adelaide's to be welcoming and the staff eager to assist. We liked their friendly reception and the simple, honest rooms. We had a large, spotless family room -- they clearly spent a large part of their renovation money on the quality of beds and sheets. Sometimes the space next door is used for performance and choir practices -- so it's not for everyone, but for a quick visit and need for an honest, safe place, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EShawMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Adelaides for two nights (Thurs. Fri.) whilst visiting Glasgow university. Staff were all welcoming and helpful (as were indeed ALL Glaswegians we met!). Our room was warm, clean and quiet. The university and west end are a ten minute bus ride away: the bus stops almost right outside the B&B. The town centre is only a short walk in the other direction. Excellent value for money!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Hebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent the last four days of our vacation in Glasgow and couldn't have been happier with Adelaides. This B&B is probably staffed by the friendliest Scots in all of Scotland; no mean task in such a friendly and welcoming country! We were pleasantly surprised with the large size of the room, which was spotlessly clean during our stay. Breakfast was continental, perfectly adequate and actually a welcome break after weeks of full English/Scottish breakfasts. The location is very convenient without being noisy as one might expect for a such central location, and we were even there for the Halloween weekend.

I would like to respond to the previous review that complained about the noise on Friday night. We were there at the same time and we were initially concerned about the noise from the auditorium that night. We were assured that the Adelaides has a policy that all renters of the auditorium must shut down all music by 10:30 or pay a penalty. Yes there was a lively party there on Friday, but it shut down promptly at 10:30. We were impressed with how quickly things became completely quiet. Our room was actually closer to the auditorium, so I am not sure what the previous reviewer was hearing, but it was not from the auditorium at the Adelaides.

Room Tip: We were in room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights during our first trip to Scotland. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the room was miserable...
On Fri night, the reception downstairs in the banquet hall had a loud, noisy band that played and encouraged singing and dancing until well past 11pm. Since the lighting on my side of the room was very poor, I did not try any leisurely late night reading and relaxing. Too bad, that would have eased the pain of knowing I had to be up and out by 7:15am and could not possibly sleep with the drum pounding in my ears...
The bathroom shower was a breeding ground for mildew, which covered the back of the floor; so we didn't shower during our stay.
Sisters from the States

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level so the noise at night will not keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH209, Front Office Manager at Adelaides, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to the criticism of our Guesthouse in the above review.I am glad that the ladies who stayed found our staff friendly and helpful but if only they had mentioned their problems to staff on their first night they would have been given a alternative bedroom and an extra lamp could have been provided.
The shower room temporary has a broken seal and is discoloured but there is certainely no mildew and quests before and after have not raised any of the aforementioned issues.Surely on your first night you would complain about this and not to shower for three whole days seems very strange??
We are sorry the ladies only mentioned this on their departure. We have very high cleaning standards and staff were particularly unhappy to score 1 out of 5 when the norn is 4 or 5 for cleanliness.
As for the auditorium being used for social event, this does take place however there is a strict policy in place that music must stop at 10.30pm in respect of guests who are staying here, in fact other guests asked me why did the music stop so suddenly at 10.30pm? Again strange?
We try our best to assist guests in everyway to allow them to enjoy their stay but it is difficult will impossible to help if no-one is told there is a problem.
On departure however when finally these issues were raised Diane S was offered and accepted a 20% discount off her bill when she finally disclosed her problems, she appeared very happy to accept this however Diane there is no mention of this in your critique of our Guesthouse?
May I suggest on your next trip to Scotland you chose a quieter location and not one which is central to Glasgow will all the amentities to hand, as the music that did distrube you was not in our auditorium but must have come from elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Adelaide's during a very enjoyable week visiting Glasgow. The reception and service, by a variety of staff, was always friendly and helpful. The general decor is basic but my (single) room was warm and comfortable, and excellent value. The continental breakfast was very acceptable, though I felt the room could be made more inviting, probably by replacing the cold fluorescent lighting. The location is ideal, being walking distance from the city centre (including Central station) yet accessible to the West End including Kelvingrove. I attended a show at the Kings Theatre which is minutes away. The Adelaides project has to be commended - funding church maintenance by commercial enterprise. These include hiring the hall for outside social events, and though there was a party on one night which disturbed some guests, I did not feel affected myself.

Room Tip: Single room with shared bathroom very good value for solo traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaides

Address: 209 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaides 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two star 8 bedroom guesthouse based in a Grade 2 listed building in Glasgow city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelaides Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing