We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly helpful service, excellent location for visiting the city”
Review of Adelaides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelaides
Ranked #10 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very friendly helpful service, excellent location for visiting the city”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Adelaide's during a very enjoyable week visiting Glasgow. The reception and service, by a variety of staff, was always friendly and helpful. The general decor is basic but my (single) room was warm and comfortable, and excellent value. The continental breakfast was very acceptable, though I felt the room could be made more inviting, probably by replacing the cold fluorescent lighting. The location is ideal, being walking distance from the city centre (including Central station) yet accessible to the West End including Kelvingrove. I attended a show at the Kings Theatre which is minutes away. The Adelaides project has to be commended - funding church maintenance by commercial enterprise. These include hiring the hall for outside social events, and though there was a party on one night which disturbed some guests, I did not feel affected myself.

Room Tip: Single room with shared bathroom very good value for solo traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    87
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
54
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Received a very warm welcome from the staff at Adelaide's. This guest house has the advantage of being in the City Center with easy access to the train station, subway (underground) and many popular sightseeing destinations. What stands out, however, is the friendliness of each and every one of the staff at Adelaide's. I noticed that there were many return guests passing through and after having stayed here I now understand why. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_Dornita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I visited Adelaides recently with a friend who has been there before. Venue city centre location. The enviroment was good, premium cost in a safe central location near Glasgow School of Art
There was a real welcome here and a helpful attitude
the accomodation was comfortable
The staff also dealt well with something I mislaid much appreciated
I will recomend Adelaides to lots of folks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Adelaides one of the four nights staying in Glasgow. In hindsight, we would have changed our plans to stay at the B&B for all four nights instead of one. The furnishings had some IKEA elements, but who doesn't love IKEA? Clean, spacious, and safe accommodations - we were in room 7(top floor). We had skylight in our room. Loved that the room had not only the traditional shortbread, tea and coffee, but also hot chocolate packets waiting for us. There's a tv and alarm clock in the room, but we didn't use either. This review received an "excellent" for two reasons: 1) the staff are so friendly and warm and 2) this is a place that will not nickle and dime you.

Even though we were on vacation, I had to do some unexpected work that required a computer, internet, and printer. I asked the front desk if there was an Internet Cafe nearby, but they offered everything that I needed onsite. But here's the nice part, they did not charge me for usage time or printing (three pages - not much, but big hotels would have charged).

At breakfast, you are welcomed by a host/cook and waiting to take your beverage order. I think they offered a cooked breakfast, but we did not want one. We were content with the continental breakfast.

Lastly, what a terrific world this place would be if there were more folks like Ted. What a delightful person, making our visit just an extra special. If you know American football, you'll have a very good conversation!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which means three flights of stairs. I don't think there are elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrackingMileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I just spent one night and reserved a single room with shared bath. Everything met my expectations. Breakfast was very good with lots of healthy choices. Front desk staff were very obliging and helpful. Only small glitch was bath tub that needed some repairs. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65erickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a warm, friendly BnB - but set up like a hotel! I arrived in July to find they had upgraded my room, which was lovely and up to date, very clean and comfortable. Both receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. They kept my bags for me after I had checked out, and even returned a call I had missed while I was out! Any recommendations they made were spot on. I chose to spend the evening in my room because it was so comfortable. This was the best BnB of my trip, and all were good. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I had never been to Scotland before, found Adelaide's online, and could not have felt more welcome and at home. Arriving after an overnight flight exhausted, confused, and a little lost, Ted ushered us quickly into breakfast (long before check-in time) and gave us advice on quick excursions to keep us entertained until our room was ready. It was honestly very much like traveling around the world and then coming home where you could trust that your mother would take care of everything. It was clean, comfortable, breakfast available whenever you wanted it, and has the friendliest staff anyone could dream of. I immediately booked another night for my return trip alone, knowing that I would feel like I was staying with friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evr1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
397 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
661 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaides

Property: Adelaides
Address: 209 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaides 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two star 8 bedroom guesthouse based in a Grade 2 listed building in Glasgow city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Adelaides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaides Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing