We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little place”

The Butterfly And The Pig
Ranked #47 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thought we would feed ourselves before a visit to the Auchentoshan distillery, it appeared there are two parts to the Butterfly and Pig, we went to the "tea room" and the other part wasn't open.

The decoration looked like a typical "English tea room" with typical tea & scone floral prints things. Very dainty..

We ordered two sandwiches: one BLT and one pastrami (deli style) open sarnie, both came quickly and in huge portions with salad and crisps..
The open sarnie was a lot of toppings sat on a thick slice of bread, quite a niche idea but very messy to eat...

Good little place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandeelui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    300
    54
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The restaurant had been recommended to us so we booked a table for six. Not sure what to expect as just after the festive period places can be a bit flat and jaded. Not the Butterfly and Pig! From the moment you walk in you are met with friendly ,easy service but with very high standards. The waiting staff are spot on,they know exactly what to do and made us all feel really welcome and at ease. Menu style is quirky and the food is excellent,we ordered a real selection and the veggies in our party raved about the mushroom burgers. The black pudding starter was delicious! Portions are on the large size so we had to share puddings-we were given spoons for us all without having to ask-very unusual in other restaurants I've almost had to apologise and beg for extra cutlery.Real sign of a good experience we're trying to find an excuse to go again this weekend and that involves a drive of just under 100 miles!! The bill was very reasonable as we all had drinks. We will be back and would recommend this restaurant. The tearooms looked great too with amazing cakes on display.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where 'Quirky' works well”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were recommended by a local to eat here and I must confess the deliberately quirky odd crockery and mis-matched tables and chairs did put me off at the start, but it worked. The food was excellent (although the menu did have a rather limited fresh vegetables choice). The staff were fantastic and the dining room spotlessly clean. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopherchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Top class. Decent (if not spectacular) range of drinks but the real star is the food which never disappoints - tasty and huge portions. If nit-picking I would say that the menu could probably do with an overhaul and if you are with a group it's very unlikely you will all get seats at peak-time. But overall this place is well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John_Denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Busy”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This bar / restuarant is usually very busy so best to book if you want something to eat . The food is great and often has unusual along with the run of the mill dishes well worth a visit I cant see you being dissapoionted

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank G Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly And The Pig also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Butterfly And The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing