We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Balbir's

Balbir's
Reserve with OpenTable
Balbir's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Modern Indian Restaurant,
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Dined last night with my husband last night and what a fabulous meal we had. We started with fish pakora which was delish. My husband had the lamb mince which was totally fantastic and I had the butter chicken-which was recommended to me -best i have tasted by far.

Great food, Great service and a great atmosphere for a saturday night out! Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    111
    41
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Class Home Delivery”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ordered three starters to share (there were five of us), three rice, two naan, two veg dishes and 5 mains. Every plate was absolutely delicious (and as a bonus there's enough for lunch tomorrow). Excellent quality and delivered hot and on time. Truly fabulous food. I'd have licked the plate if the 'soon to be; in-laws weren't with us :-) Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilly-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“9.5/10... A definite must!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Balbir's, what a fantastic Indian restaurant. From the welcome, to the departure and almost everything in between cannot be faulted.

My partner and I visited midweek for some dinner and opted for the banquet menu, priced at £18.99 per person. 3 starters, 3 main curry dishes, naan and rice... Fantastic value! Everything placed in front of us was delicious. The service was also impeccable, in particular the gent who took our order and seemed genuinely excited when explaining how each dish on the banquet menu was prepared. It really made us smile :)

The only slight critisims (and they really are minor) I have is that the quality of the dessert menu that was presented to us just didn't match the standards of the boutique-style restaurant. Linen tablecloths and napkins, chandeliers, leatherbound main menu then...... Laminated card menu for dessert? Maybe something to consider?

A wider range of rose wine to match the deliciously extensive white and red lists would have made this visit a perfect 10.

Still a fantastic 9.5!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeroniVerdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good cuisine”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

good food good service but a bit expensive. A good choice of food made it difficult to chose our meal , Not too busy however no issues

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good quality and excellent service”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I find that a good restaurant experience begins with finding various things on the menu which all sound really good. As a group of 6 out for a family birthday, we were struggling to limit our starters down so that we were not too full for the excellent array of main courses.
Service was great, very polite, quick and accurate.
The food arrived and it all tasted great, as my wife says, an indian eating in is a cut above the usual carry out as it is kitchen fresh, the chicken pakora, tandoori salmon ( a bit small ), chicken chaat etc were all great as was the chickpea dish.
Mains arrived shortly after with nans and rice, the portions are fair, not small but not oversize either. Monkfish curry is lovely as were all others chosen. Doesn't get much better, atmosphere is also very good if a wee bit dark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotScot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balbir's also viewed

 

Been to Balbir's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing