We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tchai Ovna

Tchai Ovna
Ranked #324 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I like it!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Chai Ovna is a unique find- hidden down a tiny wee lane, with a madcap but wonderful selection of teas. Its pretty 'alternative' with its highly ethically minded, vegan focused food. However, the food is great and the staff are friendly and the tea shop itself so welcoming. You can hide in a corner or sit outside with one of their big blankets wrapped around you. It's definitely 'shabby chic' so those looking for high minded dining need not apply. Additionally, despite other commenting about the 'hipster' and 'bohemian' clientele, it isn't exclusive to these folks. I really dislike some 'hipster' places, which can really look down on you. Tchai Ovna, on the other hand, feels really welcoming!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Got taken here after a charity cycle in the summer. A well deserved treat :)
It's a quirky place, with a tea menu which is several pages long! The cakes are amazing, and the baklava is fantastic.

I returned a couple of months later with a different group of friends, and a 1 year old, after I'd spoken so highly of it. We were not disappointed. And will be returning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheNorthernStarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
138 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great little corner for an original tea”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've been here a saturday afternoon and I was so happy to discover this place. It's a very little, oriental-style, simple tea house. where you can find thousands of international types of tea. In a very relaxed atmosphere, I could have some "mate" -my favourite argentinian drink- and spend an afternoon chatting with friends. Definitely would come back every week if I lived in Glasgow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must visit!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An incredible little tea house in a hidden lane full of higglety pigglety antique furniture. More charm and character than anywhere else. Hundreds of of varieties of tea, lite bites, sheeshas and regular live music in addition to the friendliest staff you'll ever find

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could spend days on end here”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fantastic place to easily spend an entire afternoon, just relaxing in the "zen room" drinking amazing tea from the vast menu. The food is also superb - I've had a wonderful red dahl and a chickpea curry, even as a meat-eater the quality of these vegetarian dishes shines through.

My one complaint about the place, and it's very minor, is that on a couple of occasions I've been - especially early in the morning when not many people are there - the music seems to be turned up to a volume that is totally ill-fitting with the style of the place and can ruin the relaxing atmosphere. Perhaps they should reposition the speaker from the back corner for a more even spread rather than making one area uncomfortably loud!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TANS_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tchai Ovna also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Tchai Ovna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing