We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Guy's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #85 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
scotland uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Came here for the first time tonight. I can't fault anything. The food was fantastic and I am a fussy bugger. The service was great very attentive. Everything about the place was spot on. Would highly recommend it and will certainly be going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    293
    107
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
712 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We don't normally eat in the Merchant City, and on a Friday night, not a good start for wandering with no reservations, we walked around checking out a few places that offered live jaz. Having never heard of Guy's, we were pleasantly surprised to be told that as long as we didn't mind waiting a bit, with the pleasure of listening to the 2 excellent musicians, we'd get a table (which came sooner than expected).
The surroundings are very pleasant, the staff attentive, and the menu comprehensive, with a broad based wine list (many available by the glass). For my main course, I had the pan fried sole, which was one of the finest I have ever had. The cost of some items on the menu and wine list are a bit staggering, but sensible choice even allows a mean North East person to have a truly excellent meal.
Certainly worth returning for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another great night at Guys”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a lovely evening in Guy's. I have been many times but it was her first and she loved it. We had the per theatre menu through 5pm.com so got a free glass of wine. The menu was good we both had the Glasgow tapas as it is a favourite of mine! What a brilliant idea you get a small steak pie, haggis and neeps, mince and tatties and chips! The only thing missing is a glass of irn bru! The service was excellent, the restaurant had its usual lively buzz about it. We had a lovely evening and will be back very soon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowFiona27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service & food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a pre theatre meal through 5pm after my aunt recommended it. She has lunch here with her friends every week so I was eager to try it. Service was really good & we really enjoyed the food. We also received a glass of wine each as booked through 5pm & could choose from a selection on the menu. Great food & value for money on pre theatre!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angypangy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good, better, best”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Guy Cowan, in his eponymous bar restaurant in Candleriggs, goes on bringing the highest standards to relaxed restaurant dining in the Second City.
Today I had a menu sampled from the distinctive cuisines of Scotland and France.
The Administrator and I shared a bottle of Rumanian Pinot Noir.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guy's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Guy's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing