We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Asian food”
Review of Yen Oriental

Yen Oriental
Reserve with OpenTable
Yen Oriental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,268 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heavenly Asian food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We took my daughters to this restaurant for their first visit and they were impressed. The restaurant offers Chinese, Japanese and Thai food, with Pre-theatre and A La Carte menus. Yen is conveniently located next to the SECC and the new Hydro Arena.

The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient the service was excellent. The food was delicious and full of flavours just dancing on your tongue. This has to be on your short-list of Asian restaurants if your visiting Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    104
    74
    34
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First time visit, will definitely be returning. Friendly staff, lovely location and delicious food. Perfect location for our stay in The Crowne Plaza.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmcl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great food superb chef.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

i always love going to this japanese restaurant, just make sure you book the tepanyaki bar. The chefs are funny and friendly and always put a good show. the manager always offers us a complimentary drink from the house when we stayed at the bar after dinner...food was excellent...loved everything about it, a bit pricey, you're looking about spending £80 to £120 per couple, depends what you drink...but its ohhh so worth it, its not all about sea food, there are some steak and chicken too if youre not a sea food lover...highly recommended!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeceM476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“cold food and attitude”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

tried the pre theatre menu on Easter Sunday arriving at 6 minutes to 5 for our 5pm booking which was the opening time of the restaurant to be met by a chinese waitress and asked to wait at the top of the stairs as they werent open and who walked away whilst we were still talking to her, not a good start. However a scottish lad member of staff heard this and immediately showed us inside, telling the waitress to take us to our table. Restaurant was absolutely empty and we were shown to a table at a wall, we asked to be seated at a window which appeared tp create major difficulty for this girl (impressions not getting better of her) but eventually with the aid of another waitress she got us seated,.dont know what the problem was but 2 hrs later there were still only four tables occupied in the entire restaurant!!
we were asked twice before we sat down if we wanted to order drinks and again before we even got the menu open, obviously very keen to maximise the bill. To the food.......at first ok but as it wasnt served with heaters and the plates were not overly warm it became cold very quickly. on asking the same waitress again why no heaters were supplied she informed us thse only became available after 7pm!!
it seems therefore that magically the food is expected to stay warm before then.We asked her to point this out to the manageress but unsuprisingly she didnt.
Food was no better than take away quality, ribs in particular overcooked dry and stringy. our less than favourite waitress continually intruded to top up wine glasses whether they needed it or not in an obvious attempt to eke up the bill ( we had two bottles of a very average and well overpriced red).our bill for 4 people for a pre theatre meal with drinks totalled £120 enough i would have thought for the establishment to provide a food heater with a couple of candles!!!!
i put the point to the restaurant manageress as to why on earth they went to the trouble of cooking the food, charging an above average price for it and then thought it ok to spoil their customers chances of enjoying the food by letting it go cold rather than supply a heater. astonishingly she replied that these were smaller portions and didnt go as cold as quickly as the larger portions served after 7pm, an amazing breakthrough in physics obviously!!! she also informed us that if we came back to ask for the heaters as they could be supplied ( not according to our favourite waitress of course)
come on Yen, not everyone who is in at the pre theatre time is actually going to the theatre, some of us would like to eat our food hot and in a leisurely fashion, you are not a fast food restaurant, you dont charge fast food prices, take a bit more pride in the food and the service you are providing and be a bit friendlier to the customers rather than give the impression you want them in and out the door as quickly as possible, serve them lukewarm food and fleece as much drinks revenue out of them as you possibly can.
cant recommend this, there are many other friendlier establishments serving better quality food at better prices than this even if you are going to the NEC

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst meal I've had in a long time!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Service was reasonable (staff seemed nice if a bit confused as to who was serving us - got asked some questions 2/3 times all from different staff members) but the food was terrible - sushi was clearly not fresh and although the mains were of a good portion size they again seemed possible re-heated/rushed. Came out feeling a little bit ripped off and a little ill. Maybe it was because it was so busy but I would not recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kas2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Oriental also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Yen Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing