We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One great night but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grill House - CLOSED

The Grill House
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Grill, Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One great night but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Dundee and have been going to grillhouse for 6 years so booked for our anniversary weekend with plans to dine at roca bar and grill on the following evening. Cameron, Ben and KRisten who I Booked with looked after us rillanty. Th fodwa impecbale as always and we had a brilliant night ending up returnig the following night, cancelling our other booking. We were disappointed. The level of service was much poorer which surprised us. We waited a long time for drinks and couldnt catch anyone to order more, the food was perfect and we left immediately after dessert as we felt unimpressed. Not the usual service and so shocking after previous night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strawberrydaiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMcLeod, General Manager at The Grill House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I have privately messaged the reviewer, having met them and been overwhelmed by their enthusiasm when they ate with us recently. I'll await their reply to understand how we got it so right on their first visit but left them feeling let down on their second. We do monitor and respond to all our feedback, good or bad and this information will be used to reinforce the training and systems we already have in place to try to ensure a uniformly consistent and engaging service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    187
    72
    51
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor, tacky 'Mexican'; the worst of the House restaurants in St Andrews.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Very tired, bland and unappealing 'Mexican' food, served with a lack of enthusiasm but reasonably well priced. Margaritas are good, but you'll need to drink lots of them to liven up The Grill House's atmosphere. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMcLeod, General Manager at The Grill House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Oh dear. I've contacted richardthewanderer to see if there is something in particular about his visit that led to his comments, as atmosphere has rarely been something I've felt the need to defend at the Grill House. Each to their own - I will await his comments and will use them, as we always do, to make sure we are always doing the best we can to create a great customer experience.

That said, one person's tacky is another's kitsch. We serve homemade Mexican food (including all our salsa and guacamole) amongst a range of other chargrilled meat, fish and burgers and see ourselves as a family-friendly, relaxed and casual restaurant rather than an out and out Mexican. The most relaxed and informal of our three restaurants in St Andrews, remaining great value whilst competitively priced is important to us, but we take pride in what we serve and remain confident in our offer.

If all else fails, have a margarita. That's what I'm off to do now...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited the Grill House for their early evening menu on a Saturday in February. We were welcomed by a friendly waitress and were shown to our table, which we had booked in advance.

It was relatively quiet when we arrived but it filled up quickly while we were seated. The atmosphere was warm and cosy. The background music was also very good! There was a good list of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails available.

The early evening menu consists of 2 courses - with a choice from about 5 dishes in each. The starters chosen included pollenta coated chicken strips. These were very overcooked and chewy. I pointed this out to the waitress when she cleared the table so that the same mistake wouldn't be made with the next order. The waitress handled this very well, apologising and returned saying that we would receive complimentary desserts. Mains included beef olives and a pork barbecue pasta bake. Both tasty. The complementary desserts also went down well.

Despite the issue with the starters we enjoyed our visit. The atmosphere was pleasant and this menu is very good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessInDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ohh what a night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can I say other then the service was fantastic, the food was delicious and the pitchers of Raspberry Margarita are simply out of this world! Keep up the good work!!! Cannot wait for my next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneCsoontobeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“NO PESO'S REQUIRED FOR THIS RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Value for money set menus and a drink thrown in as well. Always busy so recommend that you book. Have set lunch and supper menus at a price everyone can afford. Staff very friendly and have seen a few famous faces there too! Only dislike is that there could be room for more tables

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WEEBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing