We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wine and view”

Road Hole Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 158 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With an award-winning team, the very best of Scotland’s larder and a passion and flare for the delicious and delectable. This is the Road Hole Restaurant at the Old Course Hotel - The Home of Scottish Cuisine in the Home of Golf.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

A perfect spot to enjoy the view of the Old Course. Food and wine were great as was the service and manager that spent time talking with us. On the same level, we also ventured to the other bar to checkout the views as well as the outdoor rooftop - both worth a stop.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank XXX222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2018

We enjoyed afternoon tea at the Old Course Hotel, and I can't say enough about it. Great tea and food, and if you have golf fans in your group the view on the 17th fairway can't be beat. We thought the afternoon tea was the best value in St Andrews - didn't come close to finishing all the food.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank meaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I celebrated her graduation from U of St Andrews at the Road Hole. It is located on the 4th floor of the Old Course Hotel and is connected by an opening in the wall where there is a piano. I had requested a window table when I made the reservation and was pleasantly surprised to be seated by the window overseeing the golf course and the Old Clubhouse. The restaurant is fitted with two big lovely Chrystal chandeliers and certainly has an air of elegance. During Graduation Week there is a set menu of appetizer, entree and dessert for L60. I was not disappointed. We were promptly seated by the hostess and warmly greeted by our wonderful server Laura. Our tonic water with lime had not only a wedge of line, but a bit of lime cordial as well, and was so refreshing. Our appetizers of cheese soufflé and pate were beautifully presented and delicious - the cheese soufflé was fantastic. Entrees of beef tenderloin were buttery soft and prepared as requested - full of taste. The green beans tasted so fresh - and the potato side dish was lovely. The chocolate mousse was rich and flavorful while the blueberry cheesecake with grapefruit sorbet was light and airy. The quality of the ingredients really shone through. The meal , service, and setting truly made for a superb evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Out group had dinner here on our visit to St. Andrews. The two stars is for the view, it is lovely overlooking the golf course, unfortantly that is where the experience ended. The wait staff was slow and very snobbish, the only place we experienced that in 3 weeks in Scotland. The food was nothing exciting on top of that . Had a stuffed pasta that was very dry, but none of the dishes had flavor, very bland food. On top of all that the most expensive we ate at while there. Go for drinks and enjoy the view from the bar, skip the food would be our recommendation.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank coxcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

At a recent family celebration we decided to eat at the Old Course Hotel Road Hole Restaurant & as usual the food was amazing. With 7 adults three children & two members of the group with "Gluten Free" requirements it wasn't going to be easy. The restaurant handled it easily in their stride & provided us all with a super meal. It is never going to be a cheap eat at a 5 star hotel but I thought their prices were very much in line with other St.Andrews establishments which aren't as good as The Road Hole.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank WilliamHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road Hole Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Road Hole Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing