We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After all the hype...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nahm-Jim Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Nahm-Jim Thai Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After all the hype...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

...of Gordon Ramsay and so forth, I was expecting great things from this restaurant. Sadly, the food was pretty average, and the service was lack lustre. Also, I was expecting a much wider array of Thai style food, and a more comprehensive wine list. Struck out on both. The Thai style haggis was interesting and tasty, but the sweet and sour scottish haddock was so tart and sweet - that it was not good to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xyzzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    88
    61
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shame about the arrogant service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Decent Thai food, and a sufficient choice for vegetarians but spoiled by the poor service in the upstairs restaurant. The ambience is better in the downstairs bar/ restaurant. When I booked by phone I was not offered a choice of seating so if you want the informal bar area you will need to say so.
My main dish - green curry - was tasty but was almost more soup than main course.
Service is very offhand and arrogant and a bit disorganised.
I think this restaurant is relying on its Gordon Ramsay endorsement to drive business - I don't think Mr R would be very impressed now.

Helpful?
1 Thank Madame_Ascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, tasted amazing though a bit soup like with very lack lustre and rude service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Nahm Jims and stated we had a reservation. There was a very aggressive waitress who actually put her hand up while she " discussed" seating arrangements with her collegue and then we were led outside by her and in another door to go up the stairs- her whole attitude made us feel that we had made a mistake by walking in by the main door. She led us to our table- no offer to take our wet coats or any pleasantries. We all initially thought we had a wine menu but upon opening it we discovered it was the food menu. I sat and watched anothe couple wait at the door to be seated for at least five minutes while the staff squabbled loudly behind the bar. Our order was taken in a rude brusque manner. Food was very nice but very little content and lots of sauce and not cheap. We were asked several times was everything ok by different staff- personal annoyance of mine and it was very insincere. Offered teas or coffees by several members of staff and struggled to get the bill- yet another one of my pet hates. Lose the swaggers waitresses and pay attention to your customers instead of making them feel like an irritation. Kitchen , use more and less on the sauce front. Fellow diners- enjoy the meagre portions but don't expect good service.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Staff might not know everything about every menu item, but they are friendly and the food is excellent. Few choices of wine, and it the food is expensive for a student's budget, but the quality more than make up for the price. Been there twice with friends, none had other than praise.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to get excited about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a meal with my partner at the Nahm Jihm before and the food was ok the first time round though the room was pretty cold and the restaurant was ghostly empty. This time, we decided to have another try for my birthday dinner. Thai style pork made a reliably satisfying starter. totally recommend that. We had the pad thai and sizzling beef as second courses. the pad thai was just ok, but the sizzling beef was a total disappointment. above all, the service was very poor as the waitress practically slapped our dishes on the table every time and the wine waiter appeared not to be particularly knowledgeable about the wines that were on offer. In summary, the Nahm Jihm fails to match its price with customer satisfaction.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie68Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nahm-Jim Thai Restaurant also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
 
Clayton, St. Andrews
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing