We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Restaurant and Delicious Food”

Vine Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fife
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant and Delicious Food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have dined at the Vine Leaf on many occasions and the food is plentiful, reasonably priced and of a consistently high standard. The menu is wide and varied and, whilst we are meat lovers, it offers one of the most extensive vegetarian choices we have seen in any restaurant.

The restaurant is always busy and has a pleasant atmosphere. Service is professional, friendly and relaxed. Ian and Morag have owned the Vine Leaf for 20 plus years and have worked hard in making it one of the most enjoyable dining experiences in St Andrews.

If you are visiting St Andrews and are a lover of good food make sure you book a table at the Vine Leaf - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    93
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money, excellent food. Would recommend highly!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked a table at the Vine Leaf restaurant for a birthday dinner. At the beginning we were a little skeptical of the quality of the restaurant, due its extensive menu. All these concerns were left at the door the moment we walked in. The owner welcomed us warmly and presented us with the (equally extensive) drinks list.
Between the 5 of us, we had starters such as: Steamed Mussels, Crab with Cheddar and Shredded Duck and Mains such as: Roast Duck Breast, Roast Lamb and Venison and Pigeon Salad.
The dishes were of very high quality and looked very appetizing!
The atmosphere at the Vine Leaf is also very pleasant.

Definitely great value for money as 3 courses only cost £29.95 - make sure to book way in advance!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“vine dining”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

had dinner here for our anniversary on 18th September 2013 and it couldn't have been more delightful. from the moment we were greeted by mine host Ian till we left it was a pleasure. staff knowledgeable, food very good and eclectic and atmosphere truly international. a gem of a restaurant in a gem of a town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossio1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this restaurant one Saturday evening and although it had a nice romantic setting it was spoilt as we felt rushed to order (booked table for 9pm). The oysters were disappointing as I thought they would be served cold, however they are warm- something the menu doesn't indicate. My boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed the belly pork started though. The main meal was ok, but I think for the price you pay I chose the wrong main (chicken salad) as I didn't feel I'd benefited from the overall cost of the meal.
I wouldn't rush back but probably would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I just dined in the vine leaf for the first, but Definetly not the last. The service is warm, friendly and efficient. The menu is diverse and at a set price depending on your course selection. Pick what you choose, all Morags homemade dishes are delicious. Make this a must stop on your next visit to St Andrews, five star plus! ***** +

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifermurrayful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Vine Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing