We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outsatnding!!!”

Vine Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outsatnding!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One word ....outstanding!!! This little gem is tucked away up a close half way down South Street. We have been here twice and each time it has been an utter delight. The restaurant, although small has a fantastic atmosphere to it and the food is without doubt some of the best we have ever had in St Andrews ( and we go quiet a lot). The owner (can't remember his name) is very helpful and cannot do enough for you and his staff are the same. The menu is varied, with something to suit everyone. Smart Casual is the order of the day here. We are going back, of that there is no doubt!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronkerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    93
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really imaginative food.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish this restaurant ticks all the boxes. From the home made bread and dips to the great puddings you're spoilt for choice. Slow cooked lamb is a firm favourite. There is something for everyone here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and fab host, ian”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

2 visits in a month, wonderful varied menu and great wine too. We received a really warm welcome and despite the restaurant being extremely busy we were not rushed and enjoyed a very relaxing evening. The lamb was to die for! Hope to be back again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanthebairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic experience from the moment we stepped into the restaurant. Very pleasant and helpful staff, tap water in bottles on table, complimentary breadsticks and bread with very tasty hummus, salsa, balsamic and oil. We didn't feel rushed at any point. We chose starters of mussels (me) and scallops (my partner), both of which were top class. Crab creole for main was subtly flavoured and very enjoyable, and accompanying potatoes and vegetables very well cooked. My partner splurged on the seafood platter - oysters, scallops, prawns on a skewer, crevettes, lobster Thermidor and mussels in a tomato sauce. This was very good. Needless to say we didn't have room for a dessert although we were curious about trying the pistachio and gingerbread tiramisu - we will have to return to try this in the future! Considering the quality of the food and the service, well worth the money. Go on, treat yourselves....but be sure to book!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zzzz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recommended by a local resident, this proved to be a great value restaurant. Hidden away up an alley off the Main Street, a busy, warm and very accommodating restaurant offering a variety of local specialities, good wine selection and very friendly staff. Most enjoyable evening, good value for money. Lamb and Sole were our dishes of the day. Definitely one to seriously consider following pre dinner drinks at The Caledonian pub almost next door..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Vine Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing