We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Vine Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate here on Thursday night after a gap of 17 years. We are so glad we came back during our brief stay in St Andrews! This is such a friendly restaurant, with a great atmosphere. We ate oysters and lobster to start, which were great, but the tour de force were the mains - slow cooked lamb was wonderful, and my husband raved about his trio of pork. We had a fabulous array of cheese to follow. The house wines were excellent, and came in half-litre carafes so that we could enjoy both red and white wines with our meal as we did not want a whole bottle of each. Given the quality the prices were extremely reasonable. We won't be leaving it another 17 years before we go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_py91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    93
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have eaten here on several occasions and we are never disappointed. There is a good choice of menu. We have always had a warm welcome and the service has always been excellent. Whatever request, however you like your food cooked, Morag does this perfectly. Overall the combination of great food, service and attention to detail, makes us visit the Vine Leaf every time we're in St Andrews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkellou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but expensive”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at the Vine Leaf on Saturday evening (6 of us) and could not fault the meal, the staff or the surroundings. A wee bit expensive perhaps - but then I do not eat out often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If only it were nearer!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived at 6pm, made most welcome by Ian Hamilton and his waitress. Asked waitress about meal, wonderful that she was able to explain everything and knew, after being advised about allergies, what Morag (chef) could prepare without having to check. Table laid with bottled iced tap water. What a pleasure to have this without asking. Meal presenation really excellant as was the service. Meals put down where ordered without interuption of conversation. The fish platter (a suppliment on the fixed menu) was too much for one, so we all enjoyed a wee bit of it.
New comfortable chairs, well done.
Now if only it were nearer we could go a little more often.
Would recommend reservations at weekends.
Thank you to the team.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden jem!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is coming from a student foodie who has been here for 3 years and has tried almost every restaurant in St Andrews :P
The only thing I can't recommend is the Thai Green Curry. But all the deserts are divine :D don't miss out! Also, aways reserve beforehand, they are seldomly free without prior reservation!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank victoria_chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Vine Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing