We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Doll’s House

The Doll’s House
Ranked #31 of 175 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $50
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food. Good service. Maintained well, very neat and clean. Looks lovely inside and a nice atmosphere. Simple as that.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank JohnSouthby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DollsHouseManager, Floor Supervisor at The Doll’s House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello JohnSouthby

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped in to have a late brunch and managed to stay long enough to get the dessert off their lunch menu. Good service and enjoyed the typical Scottish full breakfast; it was all very good. My sister wanted the rhubarb cheesecake dessert, it was phenomenal!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank asunnylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DollsHouseManager, General Manager at The Doll’s House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed the meal and the rhubarb cheesecake!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The dolls house is pretty, inside and out. The staff are immaculate and attentive, but we were massively let down with our steaks. It was of very poor quality, basically all fat. Now I understand sometimes you can’t control supply, but if I was the chef I wouldn’t let those steaks leave the kitchen. It was basically all fat. We had to cut around it, around 75% of it was just fat. The manager was nice enough to offer us dessert or tea to cover the low quality, which we did take. A pot of tea, and it was lovely. But we weren’t impressed to learn we were paying full price for everything, including the steaks. Not very fair if you ask me, but hey ho it just means we’ll go some place else next time. Shame, as the restuarant is lovely in every other aspect.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank travelling_zues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DollsHouseManager, General Manager at The Doll’s House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Dolls House.

I am so sorry you did not enjoy the steaks with ourselves. I have contacted the supplier to ask why these were not the best quality as you have stated.

Sorry that you wont be back however we will make sure this does not happen again!

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for Sunday afternoon lunch for 2. A wee treat..We were shown to a quiet table in the corner of the room, which was busy, however not too noisy.
The waiting staff were very friendly and attentive. We ordered a fishcake starter
and a battered fish main.
It wasn't bad, it was just ok... There was no taste of smoked haddock in the fishcake
and the batter on the main was very oily. It oozed out when cutting.

I just feel I could have had the same quality at a Wotherspoons type establishment for a 1/3 of the price.
Maybe just a bad day.............

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ianw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
715jonathanh, General Manager at The Doll’s House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Ianw100 for leaving us the review.

I am pleased to hear the staff were friendly and looked after you however I am sorry you felt the food was not up to scratch, if you had mentioned the problem with the fish to the staff we would have rectified this as soon as possible to make sure you enjoyed your meal!

I would say we have a much higher quality level then Wetherspoon's as all our food comes in fresh and is cooked on site.

We do hope you visit again and have a more pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to the Doll's House with my grandparents. The service from Davide, Joanna and the rest of the team was perfect - suggesting the specials and being helpful and attentive throughout.
The food was really delicious - we all went for the chicken pie special and couldn't fault it.
Perfect atmosphere for a wonderful meal out. Thanks to all, we'll be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 0304cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
715jonathanh, General Manager at The Doll’s House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you 0304cg for the fantastic review!

I am so glad Joanna, Davide and all the staff were able to look after you!

The Chicken Pie special seems to be very popular - we may look to add it to our new menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Doll’s House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Doll’s House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing