We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value meal in St Andrews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolls House Restaurant

Dolls House Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 141 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $6 - $87
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value meal in St Andrews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great service. Waitress was first class and made us very welcome from the start of the evening. Free bread + oil and extra portion offered. Given fresh tap water without prompting--another good touch. Bottled water available but why waste money when tap water is so good
Food well cooked and presented.
3 courses each + bottle of wine and coffee for £78 --overall very pleased.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham P, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review.
It's great to see the small detail of the bread getting some recognition. We give every table some bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil for dipping. It's a real favorite here at the Doll's House. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    371
    182
    93
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, very reasonably priced right in the middle of historic St Andrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good food, very reasonably priced right in the middle of historic St Andrews. Limited lunch time prix fix menu at £7.95 for two courses was great value - pork belly was especially good, coley less so Starters and pudding very good too. Staff very friendly, drinks well chilled. Possible criticism would be that the restaurant was hot on this sunny day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value lunch menu, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Doll's House on the last Saturday in April for lunch and sat outside. Although it was sunny, we were still glad of the heater. The bread and oil to start and the soup were both excellent. My main course (saith with peas) was good but my boyfriend's sundried tomato and olive pasta, although nice, was a bit lacking. There was only one olive and a couple of tomatoes in the whole dish. However, the service we received was excellent. The waiter who seemed to be serving mainly the outdoor tables couldn't have been more pleasant without being obtrusive and we were impressed with how diplomatically he dealt with the awkward customer at the next table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mac585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited in St. Andrews for two weeks recently, and the Dolls House Restaurant was our favorite place. The food was absolutely wonderful. I like my steaks blue (really blue), and the chef did a perfect job for my particularly finicky taste. My husband had a wonderful piece of fish one night and sheep's liver on a subsequent night. He loved both.
We were there three different nights, and we loved our server, Joseph, so much that we sought him out. He was very personable and remembered little tidbits about us that made us feel welcomed and right at home. Another staff member, Chloe, was a tremendous addition to our visit as well. The first night there we were attended by someone whose name we didn't catch, and he was excellent, too.
The food was very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was lively without being intrusive. We ate at many places throughout our time in Scotland, and the Dolls House was our absolute favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 153Laurab153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham P, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a favorable review. I know exactly who you are and I can tell you that you've made a lasting impression on Joseph, Chloe and me. I wish you all the best in the future and if you ever find yourself back in St Andrews, I hope you will pop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food lovely, service below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited the dolls house on a cold February weeknight. The food was delicious, especially my pigeon starter and our steaks! Very tender and juicy and the sauce was delightful! The wine,an albarino, was delicious also!! No complaints about the food, although it was maybe a little overpriced, however it was still delicious!

My only real complaint was the service, most were very friendly however one clearly didn't want any customers to be there! Maybe she was just having a bad day! However the service was frustratingly slow. They preferred chatting among themselves to actually serving the customers! There was also a fairly large table of around 6/7 that seemed to take up nearly all of their time and attention, when not chatting, while the rest of the restaurant was ignored.

I will return next time I'm in St. Andrews as the food was great but I'm hoping for a dramatic improvement in service standards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMurray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolls House Restaurant also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Dolls House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing