We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house with wonderful views of St Andrews”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
luvthesun...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with wonderful views of St Andrews”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful holiday in the luxury of the The Shieling. The accommodation is of an excellent standard and what a joy to wake up to the views, from in the master bedroom, over the countryside to the Tay estuary beyond. Everything we could want in self catering accommodation was provided and it was lovely to meet the owners Moira and Bob with our welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, bread etc. It was home from home only I wish mine was as superb as this!!! We really felt pampered.
The Shieling is convenient to St Andrews and Dundee and near Leuchers where you can park and get the train to Edinburgh.
A definate must stay if you are in the St Andrews area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the facilities
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstenS8...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this property for three nights. Although I had seen the pictures on the internet I was still surprised at how lovely this house was. Inside there is everything you need including dish washer and washing machine. The log burner in the living room was amazing and made the evening so cosy. The kids loved toasting marshmallows in the chimnea outside.
The owners had even set up a toddler bed for our son. Free wi fi kept our teenager happy!
Would recommend this property to anyone. Great to be in the country and get peace and quiet yet still near enough to the various towns and villages.
Would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sh35109
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic rental!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at The Shieling was wonderful. The house was beautiful - exactly as advertised and shown in photo's. It was wonderfully clean, and the beds very comfortable. The view was totally amazing. The house was well-equipped with everything you would need. We loved exploring the surrounding areas and it was great to come home each time to the peace and tranquillity of this wonderful home. Moira was very friendly and easy to deal with and I would not hesitate in recommending this house to a friend. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwitrave...
Oxford, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous house close to St Andrews”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at the Shieling was too short. It is an up market self-catering house. Moira was kind enough to stock the house with milk, cereal, tea, biscuits and eggs, which was a lovely touch. It is an extremely peaceful property with a wonderful outlook. With a nice outdoor area, double glazing, central heating and a wood burning, this house would suit all seasons. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC2105
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at this beautiful property!”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautifully presented property in a stunning location overlooking the town of St Andrews. Moira is a lovely host and made us feel very welcome. Will definitely be rebooking again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Shieling with our 7 year old daughter and had the most wonderful holiday. The accommodation was first class and the views across towards St Andrews were just amazing - we didn't want to leave! The Shieling was within easy reach of everything we did - 10 mins from Dundee, St Andrews and Cupar. Our daughter loved exploring the space outside the house and there was plenty of room to play tennis, frizby and football. Moira was a great host - always on hand if we needed anything but never intrusive. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixam93
Besozzo, Italy
1 review
“Lovely Cottage with Stunning View”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at the Shieling during our son's graduation and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is beautifully set on a hill overlooking the eden estuary with the towers of St Andrews in the distance. There are sheep right in front of the living room and rabbits in the fields around it. The house is very modern and equipped to a high standard. There even is a fire place with plenty of fire wood. The large glass front allows to enjoy the stunning view at all times of day. The owner is also very friendly and welcoming. We had a problem with our car on the way up from the airport and she immediately offered to help and was happy to wait for us at the property. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and hope to return soon again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing