We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brownlees exceeds all expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brownlees Guest House
Ranked #22 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Location, Location, Location.... we can't say enough about our recent stay at the Brownlees.. My wife and I along with 5 other friends all set out to stay in St. Andrews for some golf and fun, little did we know one of the highlights would be this 10 out of 10 guesthouse. Trevor and Jackie were welcoming, friendly, funny and most accomadating. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast is world class. The location is right there with the best, a quick stroll to any of the local pubs, restaurants, or the hallowed grounds of the Old Course are only minutes away. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. When in St. Andrews stay at the Brownlees, no reason to search on, we are already planning our return visit - Nick/Amy - USA - NJ

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Brownlees Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

During August, we stayed with our teenage daughter at this wonderful guest house for two nights. The owners were extremely welcoming and anything requested of them was attended to promptly. Overall the quality of the furnishings, fittings and consumables was well above the average with a geat attention to detail. The breakfasts are truly wonderful! While sticking with the traditional bacon, eggs, sausages (from Penmans in Crail - well worth a visit if you are ever in that town), etc, for our first breakfast, we took the Eggs Benedict on the second morning. We had lunch and dinner elsewhere in St Andrews during the two days of our stay but the Eggs Benedict were the culinary highlight of our visit. If there is a down side it is in trying to get your car parked close to the premises although you can get stopped outside to drop off luggage. The guest house is situated right next to a free car park but this being St Andrews we had to leave the car about half a mile away. Also worth a visit in St Andrews are the wonderful bakers, Fisher and Donaldson. Their oat flake biscuits are great with cheese.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

First we did not think about visiting St. Andrews at all, as we did not know anything about that place. As in Oban all B&BFs where full and surely a trip to Isle of Mull would have been horrible du to the multitude of people, we decided to go eastwards.

We arrived to the tourist information and first did not want to catch Brownlees, as they did not have a double room, but in the end we decided to stay there. And we where happy that we decided like this :)

The owners Jackie and Trevor (hope i spelled it right ;-) ) where great hosts, making the people laugh and feel comfortable and off course, helping you with informations if you ever need them.
The room was not too small, and they did put the beds together so we hardly noticed that it has been two beds. That way it was like a king size bed in the end. The bed seheets, blankets, duvet - all was like new, smelling well and clean and soft... you'd want to sleep all day long.
The breakfast is marvelous - you have a great choice of various breakfasts and all was very well prepared and tasty :-)

St. Andrews is a very beautiful place, small but got everything you need. From cinema, theatres and city halls, to museum, gallery, schools and university, ruins, churches. The people in the city in general where realy friendly and nice - a beautiful experiance indeed.

We can just recommend this place and especialy this Bed and Breakfast.

I am sure that some day we will come back to enjoy some time in this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEye0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed two nights here, not golfing this time, and will definitely return.
A lovely B&B, comfy bed, friendly and helpful hosts, delicious breakfast and excellent location.
What more can I say? Thank you Jacqui and Trevor.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilywhite107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The golf trip of a lifetime concluded in St. Andrews and a stay at Brownlees. This was the sixth B&B that I had stayed in on this trip, and it was by far the best. Great hosts, a comfortable room, and just 400 yards from the first tee at The Old Course. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was our second visit to St. Andrews and Trevor and Jackie made the experience really special. They are very knowledgeable about the area with lots of good suggestions. Our rooms were comfortable and the location is great - perfect for walking around town, to dinner and of course, golf.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My son and I stayed whilst visiting St Andrews. Trevor and Jackie are perfect hosts, rooms comfortable and spotless, breakfast gets a 10 out of 10. Try the haggis and black pudding, and the muffins with ham, poached eggs and hollandaise sauce - scrummy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedallbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#10 of 72 in St. Andrews
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownlees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Address: 7 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $46 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing