We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasurable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brownlees Guest House
Ranked #24 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The golf trip of a lifetime concluded in St. Andrews and a stay at Brownlees. This was the sixth B&B that I had stayed in on this trip, and it was by far the best. Great hosts, a comfortable room, and just 400 yards from the first tee at The Old Course. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was our second visit to St. Andrews and Trevor and Jackie made the experience really special. They are very knowledgeable about the area with lots of good suggestions. Our rooms were comfortable and the location is great - perfect for walking around town, to dinner and of course, golf.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My son and I stayed whilst visiting St Andrews. Trevor and Jackie are perfect hosts, rooms comfortable and spotless, breakfast gets a 10 out of 10. Try the haggis and black pudding, and the muffins with ham, poached eggs and hollandaise sauce - scrummy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedallbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Trevor and Jackie were great hosts! They made me feel very welcome. The Brownlees is in the heart of St. Andrews near to both golf and downtown. I was on a golf vacation, and we traded stories - and Trevor even played a round with me. The B&B was clean and breakfast was great. Trevor and Jackie also care about their guest's comfort. One night several of the guests were a bit too loud, but they were quiet after Trevor asked if the guests were too loud for me. I said,"yes," and Trevor talked to them. It was quiet every night after that. If I ever go back to St. Andrews, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StAndrewsGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We thought that visiting the cradle of Golf will be the high spot of our trip, but we were wrong. Just 5 min walk from the Old course,staying in the Brownlees made this trip unforgetable.
Thanks to Jacque and Trevor. They are So warm and happy. And make you feel like you are visiting your favorite cousins and not staying in the hotel. Charming dining room with breakfast made to order and in more than enough portions. Bathrooms also feel homy, filled with all kinds of treats. Golfers themselves, they made many valueble recommendations where to play.On the day of our departure, Jacque and Trevor had to leave as well, but they left their kitchen open for us , so we can make sandwiches for the train ride. Highly recommended. You won't be sorry

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Our trip to Scotland was a trip of a lifetime. Trevor and Jacque from Brownlees Guest House were great. They made us feel like we were family. We had home cooked breakfast every morning. The days we came in from a rainy day of golf they would dry our shoes, clubs and clothes. They also treated us to a Great single malt Scotch when we arrived. The location of Brownlees was perfect. It is only 400yards from the 1st tee of the old course. There was plenty of parking. They made our stay in St Andrews PREFECT.

Thank You Brownlees

Stayed: July 2008
Thank dotygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Eight guys booked a golf trip to Scotland with stays at Turnberry and St.Andrews. Trevor and Jacqui, our hosts at Brownlees were extremely friendly and very helpful with our golf arrangements, dinner reservations and recommendations, as well as helping with any other minor questions that came up. Every one of us will happily recommend this B&B to any friends heading to Fife. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast choices are great and the location is perfect for walking around old St. Andrews. Brownlees certainly added to a great trip

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vermontscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#19 of 73 in St. Andrews
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inn St Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews
#54 of 73 in St. Andrews
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownlees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Address: 7 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $45 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing