We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded my expectations for the price!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brownlees Guest House
Ranked #23 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was in St. Andrews for a conference for four nights and had a wonderful stay. The rooms had been recently remodeled, everything was clean and bright. The breakfasts were over the top, I was very sad I had to miss one for a breakfast meeting elsewhere. I could not recommend this property more highly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Brownlees B&B for two nights so that we could walk the Old Course. The location is excellent and we were able to leave the car in the car park and walk everywhere. Parking could be a bit of a problem as St Andrews is a very popular place to visit and the car park is fairly small.
The B&B was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fabulous and fills you up for the day!!
Trevor and Jackie are perfect hosts and treat everyone as friends not just visitors.
I would certainly recommend Brownlees to anyone thinking of visiting St Andrews.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We thought that visiting the cradle of Golf will be the high spot of our trip, but we were wrong. Just 5 min walk from the Old course,staying in the Brownlees made this trip unforgettable.
Thanks to Jacque and Trevor. They are So warm and happy. And make you feel like you are visiting your favorite cousins and not staying in the hotel. Charming dining room with breakfast made to order and in more than enough portions. Bathrooms also feel homy, filled with all kinds of treats. Golfers themselves, they made many valuable recommendations where to play.On the day of our departure, Jacque and Trevor had to leave as well, but they left their kitchen open for us , so we can make sandwiches for the train ride. Highly recommended. You won't be sorry

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a night at the in-town Brownlee's Guest House in golf-mad St. Andrews. It's golf centered for good reason... it's the birthplace of the game. The Old Course at St. Andrews is undoubtedly the most famous course in the world. Hundreds of elite golfers and their hacker counterparts flow into the city daily to experience the city's wonderful courses... for a pretty steep price, but it's an experience that's well worth it. There are hundreds of lodging places in town, including many B&BS. Fortunately for visitors, the prices of the lodgings don't match the high levels of the greens fees -- at least if Brownlee's is typical. We had a wonderful time in a nicely sized, impeccably maintained room that lacked absolutely nothing to please its visitors. Our hosts, Trevor and Jacqui, were exceedingly gracious and anxious to entertain, as well as please. Trevor showed us many secrets to making the most of our time there. The special treats they added went well beyond the ordinary. The small bottle of local spirits was especially noteworthy, and as thoroughly enjoyed, For golfers, this is a must stay place; for others, it is equally entertaining.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms, views, and steps. Your hosts will help with all of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Trevor and Jacqueline made our one night stay very pleasant. We had a lovely clean room and the bed is sooooooo comfortable, I could have slept for hours :) Breakfast was great and loads to choose from, I had an omelette and it was cooked to perfection. City centre and attractions are close to the guest house. I would recommend this guest house any time. Thanks Trevor and Jacqueline, keep up the good work and spirit :) Greetings from Malta :))

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mmifsudtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Scotland with our daughter to have a look at St. Andrews University. The Browlees Guest House was absolutely perfect! The rooms were wonderful, the service was excellent, and breakfast was amazing. We had fresh fruits and a delicious homemade jam every morning. Jacqueline and Trevor made our stay the best ever. Trevor helped us choose places to see and restaurants to sample the local foods. The location was perfect within walking distance of the shops and sights. I would highly recommend them for anyone traveling to St. Andrews.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaNShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just spent one week at Brownlees and it was amazing experience. Place has a great location near to the sea, golf course as well as to the city restaurants and pubs. Room was beautiful and spotless. Breakfast was outstanding every morning and Trevor and Jacqueline even prepared for me and my colleague sandwiches for our long trip back home. They were helpful and kind and I really felt like at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0 mi away
Doune Guest House
Doune Guest House
#31 of 73 in St. Andrews
161 reviews
0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#16 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
4.1 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Strathkinness
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast
No12 Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 73 in St. Andrews
296 reviews
0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#9 of 73 in St. Andrews
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 73 in St. Andrews
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownlees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Address: 7 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $47 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing