We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand place to stay for both golfers and non- golfers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brownlees Guest House
Ranked #22 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand place to stay for both golfers and non- golfers”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a night at the in-town Brownlee's Guest House in golf-mad St. Andrews. It's golf centered for good reason... it's the birthplace of the game. The Old Course at St. Andrews is undoubtedly the most famous course in the world. Hundreds of elite golfers and their hacker counterparts flow into the city daily to experience the city's wonderful courses... for a pretty steep price, but it's an experience that's well worth it. There are hundreds of lodging places in town, including many B&BS. Fortunately for visitors, the prices of the lodgings don't match the high levels of the greens fees -- at least if Brownlee's is typical. We had a wonderful time in a nicely sized, impeccably maintained room that lacked absolutely nothing to please its visitors. Our hosts, Trevor and Jacqui, were exceedingly gracious and anxious to entertain, as well as please. Trevor showed us many secrets to making the most of our time there. The special treats they added went well beyond the ordinary. The small bottle of local spirits was especially noteworthy, and as thoroughly enjoyed, For golfers, this is a must stay place; for others, it is equally entertaining.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms, views, and steps. Your hosts will help with all of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
42
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Trevor and Jacqueline made our one night stay very pleasant. We had a lovely clean room and the bed is sooooooo comfortable, I could have slept for hours :) Breakfast was great and loads to choose from, I had an omelette and it was cooked to perfection. City centre and attractions are close to the guest house. I would recommend this guest house any time. Thanks Trevor and Jacqueline, keep up the good work and spirit :) Greetings from Malta :))

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mmifsudtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Scotland with our daughter to have a look at St. Andrews University. The Browlees Guest House was absolutely perfect! The rooms were wonderful, the service was excellent, and breakfast was amazing. We had fresh fruits and a delicious homemade jam every morning. Jacqueline and Trevor made our stay the best ever. Trevor helped us choose places to see and restaurants to sample the local foods. The location was perfect within walking distance of the shops and sights. I would highly recommend them for anyone traveling to St. Andrews.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just spent one week at Brownlees and it was amazing experience. Place has a great location near to the sea, golf course as well as to the city restaurants and pubs. Room was beautiful and spotless. Breakfast was outstanding every morning and Trevor and Jacqueline even prepared for me and my colleague sandwiches for our long trip back home. They were helpful and kind and I really felt like at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed before and this time was up graded to a twin room (surprise) the owners are very helpfully rooms are perfect clean and spacious ,
It is in a perfect location handy for town and golf course,s
Always first on my list to stay when in StAndrews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The last half of our first trip to Scotland brought us to St. Andrews, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was a block away from the coast and a five minute walk to the R&A and the Old Course. Our hosts were tremendous, going out of their way to help us out on several occasions. For instance, we had a 9am tee time at a course two hours away, and Trevor made up sandwiches and left them in the fridge for us to take. On our last day, Trevor got up early and made us breakfast. He also called around for golf when we got rained out at Carnoustie and failed to get on the ballot for the Old Course.

The breakfasts were great with lots of options including seatings and a variety of hot and cold foods that were all delicious. Will definitely be back to stay should we get back to St. Andrews

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My son and I just spent 6 nights here. Could not have been better. Great location close to the Old course, bars and restaurants. Jacqui and Trevor were great hosts. Great advice from Trevor on golf and assistance with tee times. Actually played The Old Course with Trevor. Breakfast each morning was outstanding. Room was comfortable and cleaned each day. Our 1st trip to St Andrews but we will definitely be back.

Wes M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownlees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Property: Brownlees Guest House
Address: 7 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing