We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Grey friars on a golf trip to Scotland. The staff here are the best, we had to leave for a tee time at 4am in Aberdeen, they prepared a special breakfast for us. We arrived back late, kitchen just about to shut down, the chef stayed and waitress, and prepared us a great meal.

Forget about the Old course hotel or the Fairmont, if you want a great room, excellent service stay here. Thank you to the stay of Grey Friars for making our trip very memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    127
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
115
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Received a cheap deal through "wowcher" wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised! myself and my husband along with another 2 couples stayed and had a fab time! Food was delicious rooms were gorgeous (especially ours we had a couch!) we enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar that we never left! Spent whole night there! Breakfast in the morning was delicious would 100% return! Parking behind hotel, seems good location although as i said we never left the hotel!!

Room Tip: Chance your luck and ask for superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Greyfriars for a week long golfing vacation and very pleased that we did. It was a great experience from the moment we arrived. The location worked perfectly and all the staff we encountered were helpful and made us feel welcome. This included Jinty the Manager, she was so helpful and managed all my requests so professionally. Steve, the head Chef was so friendly and our meals were amazing. Well be back soon !!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the Third floor and just loved the view from our windows..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my family.The room we were in was absolutely spotless (I have OCD traits about cleanliness,so believe me,I am very fussy.We also ate in the hotel too and the food was brilliant.Worth travelling from Aberdeen just for the food!! The staff were very friendly and attentive especially Jinty and her husband.Cant wait for my return visit

Room Tip: The quad room we were in was extremely spacious with a bright,airy feel.excellent air conditioning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff at Greyfriars is the most service and customer oriented staff of any hotel I've stayed at in years. Specifically Steve, the head chef, who makes sure we are taken care of at every meal, and by the way, the meals are excellent, and Jinti, the manger, who takes care of all our many questions and needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay in or around St. Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Greyfriar's in order to attend our grandfather's birthday in town. The rooms were perfectly suitable, clean and comfortable, and we slept very well. But what really stood out was the service. Steve, who attended the hotel at night, in particular was especially warm and friendly. We would come back late at night, and head to the bar before bed, and Steve would always be at hand for one last pint and the occasional story. We also had good service from another staff member who, when my laptop was not connecting to the wifi, found me an ethernet cable to link up to the connector in the room.

There was one small thing issue though, in that the flush on our toilet was not quite working correctly and we might need to flush a couple of times before it would do its job, but the room was occupied until just before we arrived, and then re-occupied just after we left, so it's completely understandable that there might not have been time to fix it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Stayed on top floor and had a large room with a good sized bathroom. It was very clean and well appointed. We only had a snack from the bar as we were attending a wedding so don't know what the meals are like, but the breakfast was good. The bar was good and no shortage of screens showing sport (lions game was on).
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Would request a room not facing the main road as it can be quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoregate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Property: Greyfriars Hotel
Address: 129 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing