We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoppity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppity House
Ranked #12 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at Hoppity House. We found our room to be very comfortable and extremely clean. There were many details thoughtfully planned such as the mini ironing board and iron. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Best of all, Valerie, our host was especially gracious and friendly and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute for a friend coming to stay and they could not have had better things to say about Hoppity House. Val and Jackie served great breakfast - lots of choice! Rooms are fabulous. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saa0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

St Andrew is a fabulous town and great to stay at Hoppity House as it is so close to everything. Perfect if you are a golfer. I stayed with my girlfriend and two other friends and we had lovely bedrooms with en suite shower rooms. Its a very quiet town at night as far as traffic is concerned because our bedroom was on the main street and we heard no noise. Val was great, really helpful and cooked us a delicious breakfast. Would deffo stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely with no noise from the street and a perfect and compace en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Back to Hoppity House again for the second time (Raisin Weekend!). It's absolutely lovely to stay here. Not only is Gordon the best owner and host you can imagine (I even had an upgade room although travelling alone), but the service is absolutely great: room warm and comfy, hot and powerful shower, big tv screen (at least in room 2), wonderful beds, tricky wlan (but you are not here to work, are you?). Immaculately clean, delicious breakfast choices (loved the salmon!) and the location is probably the best you can get in St. Andrews. Recommended place several times already to friends and everyone was as happy as I was!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchmere05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On a return visit to St Andrews I booked into Hoppity House as my last visit had been wonderful. Yet again it did not disappoint! Gordon is such a such a great guy who makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The room was fabulous, recently renovated to a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and I can recommend the omelette which was to die for!!! Hoppity is only a few minutes walk from the centre of St Andrews and also the beach and golf course. First class accommodation and a fab place to stay. I can highly recommend this one and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I've stayed here a couple of times now and both rooms have been different and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winechictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for a night, during a Uni reunion, at the beginning of November 2013. Hoppity is a lovely place - very well presented, comfortable and cosy. I had a large twin room all to myself and it was very nice - great to wake up hearing the sounds of the sea nearby! The owners are very friendly indeed and I felt very welcome. The cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious - you can't beat a full Scottish fry up! I heartily recommend Hoppity to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable and friendly place to stay in the heart of St Andrews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We only stayed for one night in one of Gordon's family rooms and would have loved to stay on. Gordon is the perfect host; generous, laid back, very friendly and always happy to help. The room was very clean and perfectly kitted out, the breakfast was delicious, scrambled eggs cooked to perfection and the house's location is excellent. Highly recommended - Thank you Gordon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katanja7430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing