We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beery Hikers 2012”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #14 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beery Hikers 2012”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Excellent B&B in prime location - quality breakfast and spotless rooms - particularly liked the 40 inch TV in room 3. The Beery Hikers are planning to return for another stay once we have established our next adventure. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst traveling up the coast from Anstruther - friendly welcome and lots of info given from Gordon re places to go/eat etc, breakfast was fantastic - opted for the smoked salmon and scrambled egg, it was delicious as was the coffee and toast etc - would definitely recommend this place, location was perfect too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here with three friends for one night in April. We had two twin rooms at the top of the property, both of which were well equipped and spotlessly clean. The rooms were great value and the building itself is charming with lots of little quirky touches.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner Gordon who clearly loves running Hoppity House. He also gave good recommendations for local restaurants and bars, which helped to ensure we got to enjoy the short time we had in St Andrews. Definitely one of the friendliest B&B I've stayed in.

For breakfast we all opted for a full Scottish breakfast although there were other options available, It was served in the elegant breakfast room and the breakfast didn't disappoint.

Overal we all had a great stay and it is a pitt it was only for the one night. Planning on returning again soon and exploring more of St Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Excellent place. Friendly and helpful people. Very clean and cracking breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This b&b was the nicest place we've stayed! We had such a lovely, friendly and warm welcome. Completely at ease from the moment we got there. We we're even shown a map of the area and where to go.

The place was clean, warm and newly refurbished. We loved the stuffed bunnies that adorned the stairway. The room was not massive but it suited us and it was enough room for us.

The breakfast...well...I have never eaten a better omelette. I loved it so much I ditched my normal sunday ritual of a cooked fry up and went for the omlette on the 2nd day too!

We recommend this place to everyone and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexH249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hoppity House over the Easter break (April) for a wedding, it was perfect! The location is excellent, no need to move the car once, and Gordon was just so lovely, he made us feel so welcome and went to the effort of finding another room for us when we decided to stay In St Andrews for an extra night.
Breakfast was fantastic, not one complaint from us that's for sure!
The guest house was spotless, modern and we didn't hear another person at all even when the house was full of guests.
Highly recommended for couples or singles/friends for a golf weekend.
Thank you Gordon & Heather for making our St Andrews stay so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debz1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed for two days in April and loved it. It's perfectly located, incredibly clean, with a 1920's vibe in the dining room and modern rooms. I had the one single, which had the private bathroom across the hall (this is scheduled for change). The delightful Gordon gave me a big fluffy robe and it was not inconvient at all. The entire house is spotlessly clean, the breakfast to order was heavenly, and Gordon was warm, friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing