We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasmagorically Brilliantly Wonderful”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #16 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having tried various other establishments in the main town of St Andrews without luck we came across Hoppity House (much more contemporary than the name suggests) where we were greeted by the very friendly owner, Gordon. Both rooms were furnished to the highest standard and were exceptionally clean. After a very good night's sleep we enjoyed a hearty Scottish breakfast as well as being offered continental varieties which were both beautifully presented. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeciStart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Hoppity House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

A recent stay at Hoppity House proved to be much better than anticipated. I have stayed at several of the B and Bs in St. Andrews and this was the best so far, Gordon was welcoming and friendly. the room was comfortable, modern and spotless and provided us with everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent and hopefully we will be returning on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I should warn anyone who reads this that I am very biased in this review - biased in that St Andrews is my spiritual home and biased that we got engaged in this very hotel some 15 years ago.However, that does not make any differance to what i will now advise.
The warmth of greeting from Gordon was matched by the cosiness of our room - we were lucky enough to be the first to use this recently upgraded bedroom. It was spotless. with nice decor and a smart new ensuite.
A hearty and perfectly cooked and presented breakfast was served with a smile in the bright and spacious dining room and was just what was needed after a night on the town.
Its trips such as these that make you wish you made the effort to go away more often and when we do , Hoppity House will be the first place we try. As a regular visitor to St Andrews with over 20 places visited( nearly all of them have been good to very good) , this will tell you all you need to know.
Stuart Bass

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Found this wee place last minute. We had a lovely stay @ Hoppity. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was really nice. The Owners were welcoming and helpful. Paul and I had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuiganG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Room was clean, location (Murray Park) was central and breakfast was good. However, be aware that there is no sitting room, so couples with young children have nowhere to go to relax after the chidrens' bedtime. We were also charged considerably more than the top room rate because we had 4 people (2 kids and 2 adults in one cramped "family" room). Tourist leaflets at the front door were out of date (sometimes by as much as 2 years). Host was absent on our arrival, there was no welcome brochure stating breakfast times etc. Might suit couple, business traveller or golfer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kidsonholiday186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is a delightful B&B, central location for golf and shops. Our room was spotless with flat screen TV and contemporary bed linen and very soft towels. The bed was very comfortable so much so that I did not want to get up for breakfast. The breakfast was great and you could order any combo of the full breakfast but I had the special of scrambled egg and smoked salmon yum. Gordon was very friendly and welcoming and made our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salema50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Now in Murray street, close to the centre. Murray Street is almost entirely guest houses. There about six of them within 50 yards. Room was small, bed linen very clean.However, several amenities not up to par: bedside light did not work, no soap in the bathroom despite requests, bathroom door did not shut. Service v. poor: owner out when we arrived as announced and we had to wait outside for about 20 minutes until he arrived. On leaving he would not allow us to leave our luggage for two hours. Breakfast average. Menu promises a day's special which turned out to be the same every day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irene099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Address: 4 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $141 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hoppity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing