We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value for Money”
Review of Torrance Course

Torrance Course
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Value for Money”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good course but not worth anywhere near the money that was charged compared to the likes of The Castle, Old and New Courses St Andrews.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,127 reviews
414 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Exciting Course with Lots of Challenge”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The day we played started out beautiful and then turned to cloudy rainy toward the end of the round. As usual in Scotland by time we reached the 17th and 18th holes the weather had cleared. The course is enjoyable but was not as demanding on the front nine as we expected for this caliber of course. The back nine brings on more challenges and some better scenery and views. Several holes create new demands with stone walls along fairways and even in fairways. Beware as errant shots are quickly lost in the tall grass. Even shots we thought we knew were the ball landed resulted in lost balls. Overall it is a very enjoyable course to play. Having played both Torrance and Kittocks, we personally found Kittocks to be as demanding and more scenic with its holes along water. We also had rental clubs which were excellent and the Pro Shop staff was most helpful each day we played. Lunch in the clubhouse was very good, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better value elsewhere”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A good golf course but not great, the front 9 is featureless and it is only on the back 9 where you start to appreciate the overall layout. I can't remember the deal we got for our 4 ball but at best it is only worth £50 per person. Much better value on the St. Andrews courses and far more they are far more convenient location wise.
Perhaps the kittocks is a better option ?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peterjames0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great course kittocks course better!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

play when dry but windy kittocks15th hole dog leg right par 4 awesome!!!! even in the rain got wet threw pro shop poor though great had by all!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dining after golf”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

looks like to be a trouble. from approx 30 tables only 3 were ocupied.we played our round on torrance for 250£ !!! and wanted to have a seaside view table to dine-well we didnt get one of the top view tables along the glass facade,they wanted to seat us behind a column far away from anice view! we didnt see any reason for such a behaviour and as we found out all evenibg the top tables remained empty! very poor and unscotish ,we will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Juergenwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrance Course also viewed

 

Been to Torrance Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing