We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed & Breakfast in St. Andrews, Scotland”
Review of Nethan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nethan Guest House
Ranked #18 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and guests stayed at Nethan Guest House for a five night stay in June of 2013. Compliments to the proprietors and staff on making our stay a memorable one. The homemade breakfasts were delicious, with a wide assortment of choices. The rooms had high tech features in the bathrooms accompanied with fine toiletries. The rooms were very quiet. The staff couldn't have been any friendlier. Felt like I knew Bryan and Linzi, the proprietors my whole life. The staff were very courteous and did an awesome job at their respective jobs. The location was ideal in that we did not need a taxi to get around St. Andrews. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to any one going to St. Andrews. I give them a five star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Hannibal_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 223 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

St Andrews is a town like no other. The history, charm, friendly people, and of course, the Old Course. Located in the center of it all, is the Nethan Guest House. About a 5 minute walk from everything! The house has plenty of room, very comfortable beds, and wonderful breakfast service (I recommend their omelets with everything). The next time I visit St Andrews (the home of golf) I'll be sure to stay again at the Nethan Guest House.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay at Nethan Guest House. Arrived without a booking and managed to get the last room. The owners couldn't have been more helpful throughout our stay. Very accommodating at breakfast allowing us to eat before the official serving time. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Fantastic location as the center of town is a minute walk and the 18th green on the old course is only a 3 wood away (with a slight draw). Would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed here repeatedly over the last few months and have found the owners very helpful and welcoming. The hearty or healthy breakfast choices (try the porridge) on offer are just the thing to fuel you for a bracing walk along the beach. the rooms are perfectly acceptable if not huge and spotlessly clean. there are some interesting photos showing the restoration of what was previously a bit of a wreck. Location as highlighted in other reviews is perfect, just seconds from the centre of st andrews, the old course or the famous west sands beach

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank MarshallsMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

St Andrews is a small town with lots of bed and breakfast and hotels too. This is an ok option and a nice place to stay but not the kind of stay you will remember.Stayed in the family room which is spacious and with sitting area as well. Breakfast was good, fruit and yoghurt and cooked breakfast as well. Location is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place couldn't have been more accommodating. Me and two others stayed in their three person room and it was huge. The owners were incredibly nice and were willing to help us with everything we needed. One of the better bed and breakfast's I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Field B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

What a contrast to the guest house the night before...more expensive and where the latter was top grade, this one was freezing all night, with poor quality toiletries and furnishings, and a hair dryer fixed to the toilet wall...great for men and short haired women. No....not again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bry140t_12, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

There is of course a simple explanation as to why the room was described as 'cauld', that is the guests failed to check the air vents in the windows were open!! Even with the central heating going full blast it would struggle against cold air coming in the window vents. This was not discovered until after the guests had checked out.
Actually the guests in the room next door had thw windows open in the morning as they were too hot!!

In Guest Houses/B & B's and homes, the central heating is not on 24 hours per day, ours is timed to go off at 11pm and come back on at 6.30am. As the guests did not return to their room until 11.30pm, the heating would have been off by then and with the night in question being extremely cold, it would not take long for the room to cool down especially with the window vents open.

Re the hairdryer comment, all our en-suites have top quality hairdryers fitted to the walls inside the en-suite, there is also another hairdryer in the drawer of the dressing table in every room.

The writer is certainly entitled to their opinion of toiletries and furnishings but considering we are 'graded' 4 star by Visit Scotland inspector, same as the other guest house on the previous night.
We are also graded '4 Star' by the AA

Regarding the comment re charges, you did book the room the previous day to your stay and were quoted a rate to which you accepted, you did book the room after you had checked in to the other guest house, one might ask 'why did you not stay another night at the one you had just booked into?

All in all an unfair opinion posted on Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.8 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
405 reviews
0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#9 of 73 in St. Andrews
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.3 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St. Andrews
270 reviews
0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethan Guest House

Address: 17 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Nethan Guest House Hotel St. Andrews
Nethan Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing