We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for the town and golf”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for the town and golf”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lovely location, rooms on the front have lovely sea view. Owners really friendly and helpful, try jerry's pancakes after breakfast superb.
it was my sons 21st birthday Golf trip and they really made a fuss of him, Jerry even organised an announcement on the 1st Tee of the Old course which was a priceless touch. He even organised 2 days of sunshine after the summer we have had !!
Would recommend it and will definetly visit again some day.
Thanks

Room Tip: Sea Views from the rooms at the front, better views on the upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickfitzgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    14
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice location. Lovely owner. Room poor - hot, dusty, decor shabby, bed uncomfortable. The c,aim about the breakfast is a little over rated - it is better than some, but not knock out of this world. I am sure there are better in town. Sham, because lovely people. Just could do better. Spruce up the decor (bed covers, etc), get a new mattress and either be sure the breakfast meets claims, or don't make the claims.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very top - "attic" - with a great view of the castle, but it was hot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFlannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our first B and B in a 28 day tour of Scotland, and we could not have picked better. ....... Was an excellent host, giving us good information on St Andrews. The breakfasts were very good and nicely balanced, with fresh fruit as well as the usual breakfast offerings. The room at the top was a perfect place to unwind with a glass of port.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

One of our favourite B and Bs in Scotland. Beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfast and really friendly owners and staff.looked straight out onto St Andrews Castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a truly beautiful place with amazing views of the castle and North Sea. Jerry and Linda-Ann are very nice and helpful. The breakfast is out of this world. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here recently for a few days with my sister and we had a lovely stay. My only little gripe and the reason I marked the service down was that our room was on the top floor and the morning we were leaving the proprietor sat and watched while two ladies in their seventies carried their own cases down the stairs, not very gentlemanly and unfortunately leaves a bad impression on an otherwise very good visit, shame!.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Castlemount Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Castlemount but were also disappointed to learn that you needed help with your bags when you were leaving. We all endeavour to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and I know that both Kirsty and Jerry would have been delighted to organise help with your bags if anyone had realized you required assistance. Jerry, the proprietor, however is quite flattered that you thought him both younger and fitter than you but unfortunately neither is the case and I'm afraid it's the girls in our house who carry the bags !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKHAMSTED
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. Parking on road outside, it was Sunday. The ruined castle is just outside but not worth the entrance if you are not English Heritage members of 2 years or Historic Scotland. Our room huge and so was bathroom. Breakfast room has huge windows and if I had not missed them Dolphins in bay. Breakfast very good. Jerry is a real "Top Gun" US Navy man. See the medals on the stairs, real Vietnam combat etc. You must go. Also town is wonderful, good enough for future King.

Room Tip: The one you can lie in bed and see Dolphins, we didn't but someone did and told me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonberkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemount Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castlemount Hotel St. Andrews
Castlemount Bed And Breakfast St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing