We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break in a characterful B&B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here recently for a few days with my sister and we had a lovely stay. My only little gripe and the reason I marked the service down was that our room was on the top floor and the morning we were leaving the proprietor sat and watched while two ladies in their seventies carried their own cases down the stairs, not very gentlemanly and unfortunately leaves a bad impression on an otherwise very good visit, shame!.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Castlemount but were also disappointed to learn that you needed help with your bags when you were leaving. We all endeavour to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and I know that both Kirsty and Jerry would have been delighted to organise help with your bags if anyone had realized you required assistance. Jerry, the proprietor, however is quite flattered that you thought him both younger and fitter than you but unfortunately neither is the case and I'm afraid it's the girls in our house who carry the bags !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. Parking on road outside, it was Sunday. The ruined castle is just outside but not worth the entrance if you are not English Heritage members of 2 years or Historic Scotland. Our room huge and so was bathroom. Breakfast room has huge windows and if I had not missed them Dolphins in bay. Breakfast very good. Jerry is a real "Top Gun" US Navy man. See the medals on the stairs, real Vietnam combat etc. You must go. Also town is wonderful, good enough for future King.

Room Tip: The one you can lie in bed and see Dolphins, we didn't but someone did and told me.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonberkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My friends and I absolutely love Castlemount. Jerry, Linda, and the staff are the best. They're friendly, accommodating, and made us feel right at home from the get-go. Highly recommended place for the location (right in front of the Castle ruins!), the room, the service. Breakfast was superb and our favourite was the Eggs Benedict! It is to die for.

Room Tip: We had the Patio suite which had access to an outdoor balcony overlooking the Castle ruins and on th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My father and I just returned from our trip to St. Andrews and we would highly recommend the Castlemount for its location, comfort, and service. JerryB and Linda were very accommodating. We played golf everyday and since we left before breakfast was served, Jerry B made us meal bags to take with us with Ham/Cheese sandwich, fruit, energy bar, drinks, etc. The one day we did dine in the dining room he prepared us a delicious breakfast of eggs/sausage/toast with all of the serve yourself options (cereal, dried fruit, oatmeal, etc.). Finally, JerryB took ownership of our experience and really demonstrated a commitment to us our entire stay. My dad and I flew out of Glasgow and when we reached Prestwick Golf Course the day before we left the country, we realized we left our golf travel bags. I called Jerry and he went into action. He arranged for a local cab service to pick up our bags and have them delivered to our hotel in Glasgow without any hiccups. When we returned home to the US we also realized we left our sports jackets in the room closet. Jerry mailed them out that same day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great Location. Walking distance to everything St. Andrews! Very nice B and B. Owner is talkative and opinionated, but it is his house.....Very nice rooms! Very good value for St. Andrews

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayinvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My mother and I stayed here and absolutely loved it! The location couldn't be better - we could see the castle ruins and ocean from the shower! Spacious rooms and beautifully decorated house. Amazing hospitality and a delicious breakfast with wide selection of delicious food. Laundry facilities were available which we greatly appreciated. Comfortable beds. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The B&B is run by a retired American naval pilot, and there are American standards of comfort and decor. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable and rather expensive. The host is very gregarious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
316 reviews
6.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemount Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $108 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castlemount Hotel St. Andrews
Castlemount Bed And Breakfast St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing