We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC, BEST IN ST ANDREW'S”
Review of Doune Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doune Guest House
Ranked #30 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2009

It was all perfect, what more can I say. If you want a real home from home, fantastic service, absolute cleanliness, helpfulness, kindness, delicious breakfast,comfortable bed, then stay at Doune House.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2009

Business takes me to St Andrews frequently and i always stay at Doune House . The fine solid sandstone house is located within a short chip of the Old Course, the beach and the atniquities and amenities of St Andrews. The house is comfortably furnished and it is always well warmed on cooler days and nights. Breakfast is always a chance to meet other guests and the food is excellent, catering for different tastes too. The hosts are, Del and Maria , are warm, witty and wise and have given me loots of usefuyl advice about how to enjoy the town. There is a lot to St Andrews and it is easy to miss the best without some local knowledge. As a Scot it gives me great pleasure that visitors will be so well looked after here, and of course at very modest rates too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNACHAIDHEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I stayed here while visiting my daughter who is a student at the University. I found the room to be immaculate and very comfortable. Maria and Dell are naturals for the hospitality business, took great pains to make sure everything was just right and make you feel at home.. The breakfast there was wonderful, and enough to carry you all the way to dinner. I liked it so much that I booked my wife there when she went over for a visit in April and she feels the same way about Doune House. Dell and Maria went to great lengths to help her with some luggage difficulties and made her feel right at home also.

Very convenient to anything you would want to do in St. Andrews, and would have to be the perfect place for a golfer as it is right by the Old Course and some nice pubs and restaurants. For the price, I can't imagine a better value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Doune sets the benchmark for what all good guesthouses should aspire to. The beds are comfortable, the rooms well equiped, the shower is powerful and the breakfast really hits the spot. In addition, they offer free wifi access and provide even a laptop in the dining room if you have forgotten yours. It is well located close to the centre of St Andrews. The Old Course is within a well struck 4 iron and the beach is but a well shanked 4 iron (if you are right-handed that is). Del and Maria really do go the extra mile to make you feel at home even providing a fresh friut salad at breakfast that is better than most 5 star hotels. They are a font of local information including the best local restaurants, and bars.

We are going back to St Andrews in October and will definately be staying at The Doune.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabigfella2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

London visitors- we're a family of 3 and stayed in 2 rooms for a week over Easter. The welcome was hugely warm and genuine; the rooms were great - as good as a 3/4 star hotel. There was separate storage in the ground floor hall for golf bags etc. Breakfasts were delicious and set us up for a long day on the course. The location is perfect for golfers and it is perfectly possible to abandon the car if not touring. Maria and Del arranged for the 2 golfers in our party to be entered on the ballot for the Old Course ahead of our arrival which meant they played it within a few days.
Getting to St Andtrews is very easy by train/bus. The St Andrews town courses are within easy walking distance from Doune House; golf bags can be left at the central clubhouse for £1/night if playing for more than a few days.
An added bonus is that Ayden, Maria and Del's son is the pro at the Dukes Course - discounts apply if staying at Doune House The course is well worth playing, situated on a hill above St Andrews and would be considered one of the best in the UK if it were not competing with the Town's more famous courses - it is a complete contrast to the links scenery. My daughter took a few lsessons with Ayden - who is young himself and very laid back - and she came back to London with a sorted out swing! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed in Doune House whilst in St Andrews viewing the University with our teenage daughter. We were only there 1 night but it was a fantastic B&B. Maria and Dell, the owners were great hosts. They were helpful beyond the call of duty!! The place itself is very central with free off street parking nearby. It is spotlessly clean and there is great attention to detail in the rooms which are beautifully furnished and decorated with very comfortable beds. The hospitality tray in the room was great with everything you would need for a good cup of tea or coffee - there even was a little bowl of sweets and a jug of fresh water. The ensuite bathroom was so fresh and clean with an abundance of toiletries and great sized towels that were so soft with a fabulous freshly laundered scent. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit salad followed by a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast which had an excellent choice. We were only there for 1 night but it was great and if our daughter manages to get to the University then we will definately be back quite a few times I would imagine!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlsterTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,374 reviews
0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#19 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Address: 5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $149 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Doune Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing