We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful people & wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doune Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune Guest House
Ranked #25 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnetka, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful people & wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Doune Guest House was perfect for our visit to St Andrews. The location is central to everything in town. A large parking lot is a few steps away.
Maria and Dell are most welcoming, and we felt right at home. Our room was spotless and bright. The breakfast was made-to-order and was delicious.
I will gladly stay again when I return to St Andrews! Many thanks to our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
48
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed here 3 nights on our visit to St. Andrews. The location is tucked away in a little street and quiet. We had daily friendly conversations with Maria who gave plenty of helpful recommendations of the area upon arrival and provided delicious breakfasts. The room was so welcoming with very comfortable beds, an ensuite fully stocked bathroom, and a great shower with plenty of hot water. Strong wi-fi, although the tv signal would cut out often, but as we spent most of our time out and about, it didn't matter anyway. The room was always tidied when we got back. We were quite sad to go. Would highly recommend and most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

It's often difficult finding accommodation for the single traveler, but this place came through and at a very reasonable price. The location is perfect for either golf or visiting a student (my trip) and I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The bed was quite comfortable, a real boon for a sore back. My hosts even moved me to a larger suite when one became available! Great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just a quick note to say thank you so much to Maria and Dell. We were a golf party of 4 gents staying for a long weekend of super golf. Maria and Dell could not have been more helpful and the rooms and breakfasts were delightful. Won't stay anywhere else in St Andrews from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbgsypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Doune Guest House and its gracious, caring and professional proprietor Maria was the highlight of our recent, last-minute stay in St. Andrews. We ended up there by accident, because perchance it was available when we needed a room, and stayed 3 nights. We would have stayed all week if she had had rooms. Doune House is truly a home away from home, at the highest level to be found in St. Andrews. It is simply a great pleasure to stay there. Maria and her husband Dell's professionalism and warmth make the B&B a delight and memorable, THE place to stay if you want a guest house in St. Andrews.

It's central location is superb for both the University of St, Andrews and the golf. Market Street with its stores and coffee houses is a 2 minute walk, and South Street with the wonderful Vineleaf and Adamson restaurants (Try these!) is a 4 minute walk. St. Andrews' St. Salvator's quad is a minute away.

Firstly, the house is eat-off-the-floor clean and decorated in an elegant, etherial palette wtih a lot of white. Maria actually made the bed headboards herself! It is well-kept, and the usual paint peelings and rattiness are nowhere to be seen. Maria cares about the details. The shower is strong and easy to use, with truly hot water and no leaks; the Internet is fast and stable, unlike almost all of the other guest houses where Internet is weak or intermittent. Maria's Internet works well in every last room. She has created the details of a five star hotel. Open the closet and there are white terry cloth cotton robes and extra blankets and pillows.

Tea and biscuits (cookies) await you in your room, along with UHT milk, tea, white and brown sugar, and multiple kinds of tea and instant coffee. The rooms are remarkably quiet. The beds are top of the line orthopedic beds so they yield an excellent night's sleep. The bed linens, including the extra blankets and the high threadcount cotton sheets, are all washable and thus the whole room is sparkling clean with a lovely smell.

Maria cares about her guests. Nothing is too much--she will iron a guest's clothes if necessary or do laundry in a pinch. She will tell stories and loves to listen to yours. She handles every wish and calamity with both competence and caring--she was a high school teacher prior to buying the guest house, and her analytic, intelligent mind informs the beauty and ease of the house. She and Dell live in the house, and so are always available for both crises and minor glitches. Absentee owners can not provide this attention to detail--ask before booking.

The breakfast room is always open, and includes a small fridge stocked with items for the guests. In our 3 days we did not eat breakfast, so I can't comment on the food.

At about the same price as other, lesser, B&B's, Doune House is remarkable value for money.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room, which is beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSeeingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'm a picky traveller and was thoroughly impressed with my 3 night's accommodations at Doune Guest House last week! The hotel is SPOTLESSLY clean and well maintained. My room looked fresh and pretty, the bed was very comfortable, the shower pressure was awesome and never was short of hot water.

The breakfasts were delicious and generous. Maria and her husband are lovely hosts.

The location of this hotel is perfect for a traveller without a car. Everything is within walking distance, including the cathedral ruins and Old Course golf attractions.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Rick Steve's was right again! My wife and I just stayed at the Doune House in St. Andrews and came away tremendously impressed with every aspect of our two night stay. Our room was spacious, bright, airy and impeccably clean. Comfortable beds, fluffy towels and very quiet. Our very entertaining host, Dell, served up a delicious breakfast each morning along with commentary that had us chuckling throughout the day.
St. Andrews is extremely charming and walkable to begin with, but the Doune House is perfectly located, mere steps from the Old Course and tremendous restaurants. When we return to St. Andrews, we will definitely stay at the Doune House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#14 of 77 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#22 of 77 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#4 of 77 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Property: Doune Guest House
Address: 5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing