We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house near the Old Course”
Review of Doune Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune Guest House
Ranked #33 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Due to the 100% favourable reviews on Trip Advisor I was delighted to find availability here. I stayed in a single room for 5 nights during the Ricoh Ladies Open and was looked after perfectly.
The proprietors are so welcoming and are happy to sit down in the small dining room and chat away with you.

Single bedroom though small was perfect for me and the bed was most comfortable. My ragged bed-making was immaculately tidied every day. Shower room first class and lovely personalised breakfast (just fill in sheet with your requests the previous evening).

All the local info you could wish for and an added bonus for me was the free use of an umbrella. The one I chose could also be used as a walking stick.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Single room is on the 3rd floor. Shower room, though not en-suite, is adjacent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmageddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Doune House while travelling to St. Andrews. What a wonderful experience. The house is impeccably clean and the "Scottish" Breakfasts were wonderful and came with stories of the area and lots of tips on what to do when we were not playing golf. Maria and Dell were most accommodating and helped us to find places to eat and even made us some needed reservations! On our last day of golf we needed to leave rather early and Maria graciously got up early and had it ready for us.
As far as location, it could not be better. Within a 10 minute walk to the Old course and within a short drive to many other amazing courses.
We highly recommend the Doune house if you are in the area!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed three nights at Doune House, and the experience was excellent. My husband is a golfer and the location is about 150 metres from the first tee at the Royal and Ancient golf course. They were able to provide excellent information and insights into all golfing at St Andrews. Our room was amazing, it was large, well appointed, great ensuite facilities, spotlessly clean with a large window to allow in the sunshine. Maria and Del were excellent hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Doune House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Exceptionally clean, friendly & cozy. Stayed on a golf vacation during some very rainy days; every day the proprietors accommodated us in drying out our clubs and gear to be ready for the next day. No over packing was necessary. Dell & Maria made certain to make dinner reservations for us every night.
Close enough to the Old Course we walked and carried our clubs.
Thank you Maria & Dell!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at Doune House for four nights on a golf trip with three buddies. Thank you so much Del and Marie for the absolutely perfect accomodations. The house was extremely clean and the beds were great. The breakfast was outstanding (even when Marie got up really early to feed us before an early tee time). Everything we needed was provided without asking, and they even gave us great tips on things to do around town. It was literally like staying with family. I'm just sorry we had to leave because I know Del wanted to hear more about my Hole-In-One. (Right?) I would highly recommend Doune House to anyone staying in St. Andrews, for golf or otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent and friendly Little Hotel just 2 Minuten away from The clubhouse.
Very friendly and helpful, we Enjoyed our stay very much, definitely a come back.
I would Renommend it to anybody. Breakfast was Perfect, The Roms are in exzellent Sharpe and The Price (45 GBP) is also ok

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortalezamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We've stayed at Doune House not once but twice, and we've been through several guesthouses in St Andrews! The beds are lovely and comfortable, and Maria keeps her house spotlessly clean, gives us wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruits. But most of all for us, it's the people that count, and we couldn't have wished for kinder or more welcoming hosts!
THANK YOU and all the best Maria and Dell! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#9 of 73 in St. Andrews
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Address: 5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing