We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Doune Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune Guest House
Ranked #28 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights to visit the University with my two grandparents and i honestly couldn't have asked for more from a guest house! We were given an amazingly warm welcome and the owner was very helpful with maps of the town and helping us find somewhere to eat that evening. The rooms were well decorated and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the guest house, but it was the bathroom that surprised us. Absolutly everything was provided, from shower gel and soap to cotton wool buds and balls in cute little pots and gorgously fluffy towels. It was these little touches that made the stay extra special. The bed was wonderful and the pillows lovely and i had a great nights sleep both nights, just to wake up to the best breakfast i've had in a while! a choice of cerals, fruit salad and youghurts to keep you going until your made to order cooked breakfast arrives and then toast, coffee and juice. The only way i could fault it was that, if you wanted to try everything, then there was too much!
The guest house is small and that means you get very personal service from the wonderful owners who are more than happy to stop and have a chat with you. They go out of their way to make sure you are alright and enjoying yourself, even to the point of shipping our bag back down to the south of england when we managed to leave it there, which was very much appreciated!
The Location of the guest house is also perfect, 5 minutes from the golf course, 5 minutes from the University, right in the centre of town and a stones throw from a lovely restraunt, you cant ask for anything more. The only problem for some people would be the lack of parking, but that applies to the whole of the town :)
Doune Guest House was an amazing place to stay and i know that my grandparents are planning on staying there again when they come to visit me at Uni. I would definatly reccomend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in St Andrews.

Room Tip: Single rooms are rather pokey, still lovely, but if you like your space then i'd reccomend going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
49
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent a brief but very enjoyable stay here. our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. we thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast with portions big enough to defeat my teenage son! We were given and a very warm welcome, and hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0undbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to extend our easter break at a 4 star hotel in Nairn with an overnight stay in St Andrews,the Doune Guest House outdid the hotel for comfort,cleanliness,service and breakfast.
I have stayed in a few of the guest houses in this area of St Andrews on various golfing trips and this one is definately one of the best,Well done to Del and Maria,looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for an open day at the university and could not have been better looked after; the beds were really comfortable, the bathroom spotless and with lovely fluffy huge towels and we raved about the breakfasts! Very tasty fruit salad, fantastic cooked breakfast and enough tea to keep us happy. Also we thought the complimentary bottles of water a really nice touch and there were many other small things which showed how much thought and effort had gone into making our stay really special. Thank you for a really super time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinjellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week and i couldnt have asked for a more perfect B and B! The location is great for the town and uni, the rooms are lovely, by bed was huge and very comfy, with lots of small touches which make all the difference. The bathroom had complementary toiletries and felt more like hotel.#the breakfast was yummy and very generous (I think I must have put on about a stone!) and del and maria could not have been more helpful.
I would recommend doune house to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edzell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

have been to st andrews a few times and this is the best guest house by far lovely spaceous room spotlessly clean could not find a fault at all quiet place in the centre of st andrews run by a lovely friendly couple i would recomend it to anybody will definately use it the next time wee visit there c laidlaw edzell angus

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was here last year fro the StAnza Festival, and as soon as I had booked my tickets, I went straight back to Doune house to book a room. The room was warm, comfortable (great bed!) and pleasant and the breakfast was lovely, especially that fruit salad. I was surprised to be recognised when I arrived, as there must be so many people coming and going, but it was so good to be welcomed, and made to feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 72 in St. Andrews
184 reviews
5.6 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Property: Doune Guest House
Address: 5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing