We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ogstons, St Andrews - A poor attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ogstons On North Street

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ogstons On North Street
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ogstons, St Andrews - A poor attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here at the weekend as part of a large group. We were in room 6 directly above the entrance to Lizard but be prepared that there is only single glazing so you hear ALL the noise from the club and more as people mill around outside afterwards. There was also a horrible smell of smoke in the room (presumably from the club) every time we entered the room. The beds were comfortable but the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable (compared to other sofa beds, I expect a level of discomfort when sleeping on one). It was also stained. If you request a family room, be aware you may be on a sofa bed.

The breakfasts were good although the service was slow but this I suspect was due to being part of a large group. We had dinner one night in the hotel and it was reasonable quality for the price. The bedrooms are decorated nicely and the bathrooms had plenty of hot water and were clean. The reception area is in need of updating.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel due to the unhelpful and unprofessional attitude of its management staff when I provided feeback after staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogst01, Manager at Ogstons On North Street, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
The respondent was one of a party of 20 women on a Hen Party weekend and appears the only one with any complaint. Her complaint was not made to us at the time, but came in the form of an email seeking ''resolution'' after her stay. The fact that we raised her concerns with the organiser of the booking, who was also unaware of any issues, seems now to be her main concern. It is normal practice for us to include the person who has arranged and paid for a booking in any correspondence about the level of service provided by our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    87
    40
    21
    2
See reviews for
43
105
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

stayed at the Ogstons 27/1/12 for two nights. we had room 4. it was a small room but had nice decor. the bathroom was fairly large and had a lovely walk in shower. the room looked onto the main st, although the noise wasn't too bad i would imagine it may affect light sleeper's as the club underneath the hotel, (Lizard) closes at 2am which leads to a lot of people mulling about in the early hours. being an older hotel, recently renovated, the floorboards also creaked a bit when people were moving about. we were able to park the car in the free car park located near the hotel which was handy. we never tried the food although the eating areas looked pleasant. for the price we paid we were more than happy with the overall standard of the hotel. the location was ideal as everything St Andrews had to offer was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c7usk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed in the Ogstons on sat 26th Nov.We were in room 16,a family room.Huge kingsize bed with a smaller room off the main room with a double bed.Lovely bathroom as well witha large walk in shower and seperate bath.We ate in the hotel and the food was very good and staff very helpful and freindly.Great location right in the centre of town.We were on the second floor and heard no noise at all.Will defo be back,Hotel and st andrews both smashin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here one night (a Saturday), on the first night of freshers' week, and I can't say we were disturbed at all by noise. I can't remember the room number but from someone else's description I suspect it may have been 3. It had one of the biggest and loveliest hotel bathrooms I've ever seen, with a free-standing bath and a huge window. Such a refreshing change from depressing little en suite showers. The room was lovely too, with a very comfortable double bed and room for our son on a sofa bed too. Breakfast was delicious and service very friendly. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkLoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Madrid
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while exploring St. Andrews. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of St. Andrews and close to shops, the Golf Museum, and the 18th hole of the old course. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast but thought it was quite good with a cold buffet portion and a hot dish you could order.

My two criticisms are with our room and the service. Our room, Room 10, was well-decorated and clean, but that's the most I can say for it. It was absolutely tiny, the smallest we stayed at during our trip. We could barely fit our two suitcases and backpacks in the room with us and if my husband had brought his golf clubs, they wouldn't have fit. Bathroom was a good size but with no place to put our toiletries. The room was also incredibly noisy, it overlooked the pub garden and was quite noisy until about 2 or 3 in the morning. We also got the glass bottle recycling noise in the early morning. The new windows helped but didn't completely block out the noise and closing them entirely made the room quite hot. We had heard about amenities like DVD players and iPod stations but saw no evidence of them in our room.

The service was quite good but was hard to find. The reception was often not staffed during the day meaning you had to go search the bar, restaurant, etc. if you wanted to get your room key or had any other concern. They also did not start until 9 in the morning so any early morning concerns or an early checkout need to be taken care of ahead of time (with a 10.30 required checkout in the morning, the reception should have longer hours).

With the good supply of hotel rooms in St. Andrews, I think I will try another place for our next stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room #10, unless they are offering a steep discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Let's be clear - this hotel was lovely, we were just subject to a few things which meant our stay could have gone better... Here are the highlights and lowlights of our stay...

Highlights...
The staff were friendly, the rooms were cosy and well decorated (I am a tartan fan!), the bed was really comfy, the bathrooms were well done, the restaurant and food - all great, and the bar great fun and rather lively at night, St Andrews is on your door step to get out and about!

Lowlights....
Unfortunetaly there were a series of unfortunate events while we were staying here which meant our stay could have been better. For example; the showers we had at night and in the morning kept running cold. No big deal, just not particularly comfortable. We were on some random wake up call which meant someone was calling our room at 7am and 7.30am on a Sunday morning - again no big deal, just annoying!

I think the key thing to understand is that this hotel is in the centre of St Andrews. Therefore things like parking when there is an event on is town is a nightmare and the hotel is right above a lively bar and nightclub. Great if you fancy partying, but when you want to get to bed at a reasonable hour at night (god I sound old and grumpy don't I?!) - there is no chance! The music is going until the early hours of the morning and then you have the tipsy people making noise outside for a while longer - even with the windows closed it's noisy on a Saturday night!

Like I said - I liked this hotel but be warned that it will be quite noisy on a Friday / Saturday night for you. But this is the trade off to being in the heart of everything and should be expected when you visit on a peak weekend in August!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I went to St Andrews for a romantic weekend with my husband, stayed in Ogston for two nights, room 3, absolutely beautifull, huge bed, window seats, fantasic bathroom, huge free standing bath and lovely big shower, we had a fabulous time, had dinner in hotel both evenings, staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was amazing, everyone is so friendly, even the owner took time out to make sure our stay was pleasant, lovely young man, will most definately be visiting again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogstons On North Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogstons On North Street

Property: Ogstons On North Street
Address: 127 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ogstons On North Street 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel right in the heart of St Andrews, the Home of Golf. Nominated for Small Hotel of the Year in the 2009 Golf Tourism Scotland Awards and recommended in the Eating Out in Fife 2012 Awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ogstons On North Street Hotel St. Andrews
Ogstons On North Street St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing