We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location!”
Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a great place to stay whether you are playing golf or not! We had a sea-view room, and it was fantastic! Just a minute walk down to St. Andrews links and less than five minutes to town-center, it is wonderfully located. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast was simple but nice. We will definitely book again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriedSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

It is one of the world's greatest tragedies that St Andrews is the home of "golf", there is so much more to enjoy in this city. We tried only five restaurants and each of them exceeded our expectations.
The Hazelbank hotel is a hidden gem. For any future visit to St Andrews we would stay at the Hazelbank and if the dates we wanted were not available we would change our plans. On this occasion we stayed before the Rupert Bear trouser wearers arrived for the Open golf and because of that the old course was of course closed which resulted in low occupancy at the hotel without any decline in standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga, USA
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Located one block from Old Course. From our window, we could see the course and the Shoreline. The staff made us a wonderful breakfast each morning. The day we left, we had an early morning Tee Time. They let us keep our bags in a common room so we could check out, but not have to leave everything in our car while we played. The lady in charge, even put together for us a "KIt" of fruit and snacks to keep us fueled for the back nine. Wonderful service, modest, but quite comfortable room. I would happily stay there again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StephenandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My brother and I stayed at the Hazelbank while we spent a week playing golf in St. Andrews and Crail. The staff was nothing but wonderful! They were very helpful, wonderfully warm and welcoming, and most friendly. The breakfast in the dining room was lovely, so quiet, serene and relaxing w/ a wonderful view out the front window. I can't remember when I've had so relaxing a stay. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. They went above and beyond what one might expect. I can't compliment the staff enough for all they did to make us feel at home. And that we did! I will book my next stay in St. Andrews at the Hazelbank w/o hesitation and would gladly recommend this lovely establishment to ANYone that is going to St. Andrews. Now if only they could have helped my PLAY better on the Old Course.....!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dls304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Int he states, we call his a B & B...clean, small but comfortable, with a great host and lovely staff. Fabulous location, convenient to everything. Room decor is somewhat "tired" with few frills, but who cares...your at St Andrews and spend little time in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fattddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The wonderful ambiance of the hotel was felt as soon as we arrived and continued throughout our stay. We were unfortunate in that we did not book a seaview room but this did not take away from the enjoyment - in fact made us go out and about. The hotel is situated 2 minutes from the Old Course and literally 5 minutes walk to the centre of St Andrews. Our room was spacious, clean, fresh and airy. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were charming and knowledgeable. Next time we visit we will book a seaview room as the view from the large clean and bright dining room on the ground floor hinted at what the views would be from the upper floors.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

this should not be called a hotel,it,s a b and b.room was okay nothing special,shower head was held up with toilet roll.energy saving bulbs were not a problem.£130 per night was awful for this place they dont even have a sitting area where guests can sit and relax.no sea view only the back of another building and woken in the morning by a generator,given that two streets away there is a place thats all been refurbished big rooms with en-suite £65 per night breakfast included,would not stay here again and to repeat myself this should be called a b and b with no sitting area,dread to think what the sea view rooms would have cost,not surprised there is no photo of the property on the net as they would not get half the buisness otherwise.

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — bieng woken early in the morning by a generator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Property: Hazelbank Hotel
Address: 28 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing