We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had severe travel issues getting to Scotland (2 days of flight delays plus no baggage for 3 extra days - terrible!). BUT Michael & Marian and the staff at the Hazelbank were terrific. They bent over backwards to help us cope with lost luggage, phone chargers, toiletries, etc. and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts we had there were the best food we had in Scotland. The sea view rooms were fantastic and location to all thinks golf could not have been better. I would highly recommend the Hazelbank. As we say in the States, the proprietors are good people.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms have a beautiful view of the North Sea, plus a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
36
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights recently. Very hot and stuffy room overlooking the alley. Price was very high for value received. It should only be classified as a B&B and not a Hotel. Breakfast is only for one hour 8-9. Stay next door at the Russell Hotel is my recommendation for less money

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had a change in travel plans and was able to book this last minute.
Pros:
Friendly staff, decent breakfast. View from the window of the water was best part of room.

Cons: The room was a little shabby, and bed not that comfortable. No air conditioning, so flies came in with the windows open. Also heard the late partying crowd in the street.

Rather overpriced. Would look further in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank given2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel over a 5-day period last week. There were three couples in our group; we found the accommodations to be quite sufficient for our group. The rooms were the largest of any that we stayed in while in Scotland, rooms were exceptionally clean, breakfast was well prepared , and staff was quite friendly and helpful. The owners were very helpful in suggesting ideas for the ladies to do while the men played golf. I can highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a nice, quiet place to stay while in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sniffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were a small group of golfers who took up most of the hotel's accomodation. It was only walking distance to the first tee of the Old Course. The rooms were fine and perfectly serviced everyday. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. An ideal base for any small golfing group in the delightful town of St Andrews.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalpalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have stayed in several B&Bs and hotels in St. Andrews over the past four years, and this is our favourite. It is more affordable than the full-fledged hotels, and a notch better than the nearby B&Bs we have tried. Hazelbank smells nice--none of that stale bacon and fusty carpet smell that can pervade smaller B&Bs! It has nice modern clean bathrooms, neat and well decorated rooms, and a generous breakfast service in a light-filled dining room. Next door, there is a pub with light food, and there are also many other excellent restaurants and pubs in and around St. Andrews, so staying in a hotel that does not offer dinner is not an issue. Outside the front door there is a path to the famous beach (important if you like to run or take long windy walks), and the smell of sea air greets you every morning as you step outside. The owners and their staff are all gracious and discreet, willing to chat over breakfast if you want or to leave you alone if you are in need of quiet. The housekeeping staff do an excellent job. On our most recent stay we had a lot of luggage and a jet-lagged teenager, so the mess in the room was unfortunate, but the housekeeper made sense of it without unduly mixing up our items. We are big fans of St. Andrews and would recommend it for a visit filled with history, scenery and charm. If we are able to go back, this hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sztravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hazelnut
Bank. With a wonderful location very close to the
golf courses and views to the ocean, it was very easy to enjoy. Our room and the en-suite were small but this do not detract from our experience. It would be fun to return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
476 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Property: Hazelbank Hotel
Address: 28 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing