We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right”
Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although I was only able to stay for one night, it was truly amazing. Our room had a lovely view of the sea. The rooms were quite big compared to other hotels i had stayed in for a similar price. The free Internet and breakfast was also a plus. I only wish it was sound proof as I could hear people walking up and down the stairs. I truly enjoyed my stay there. The owners are very friendly and hospitable. Will definitely go back on my next trip to St Andrews.

Room Tip: As for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We showed up in St. Andrews late one afternoon without reservations. Found a room for one night at the property next to this one and had to move the following day. Moving was our good fortune - we ended up at Hazelbank. Awesome location - sea view room - golf course nearby. Our room was well decorated and nicely furnished with a great bathroom. The place was classy - spotless and tastefully decorated. The service was impeccable. Michael was welcoming and gracious and helpful in providing information. Definite recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed there in September 2011. The hotel is located just few meters from the sea. I booked single room, which was very good with comfortable bed and clean bathroom.
+ the WIFI worked without any problems
+ tasty breakfast
+ fantastic location, walking distance to all St Andrews highlights
+ helpful and friendly owner

I truly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As international parents delivering their daughter to University we have made several trips to St Andrews this past year to view the school, move in and visit our daughter. We found Hazelbank by far the most convenient, comfortable, economical, and friendliest place to stay. The location on the Scores and view of the North Sea is amazing. Michael and his crew have gone out of their way to accomodate us and we will definitely be spending all our visits there until she graduates. They put up with our excessive luggage, gave our son his own room on the house when we visited for Thanksgiving and shared lots of local knowledge. You can't go wrong staying at Hazelbank. I almost hate to let the secret out for fear that they will be booked up next time we call, but Hazelbank deserves the praise.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooking the water is awesome...just don't book when we need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my 1st time staying here and i would definitely recommend it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and Michael the owner made us feel so welcome and at home.
We had a party of 7 females ages ranging from 38 - 76 and had a very good and relaxing time.
will be going back if i am up in St.Andrews again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hazelbank B & B. Michael and his staff were very warm and welcoming with their service and hospitality and we met some great acquaintenances during our stay! Great location for golf, restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. It made our trip all that more memorable! We would definitely stay here again and will recommend the Hazelbank to friends who plan a visit to St. Andrews.

Denny & Linda Atwood
Roseburg,Oregon USA

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlooking the North Sea are very comfortable with a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Extremely loved this place. Service was exceptionally good, honestly much better than lot of four star hotels we have been to. We got the wonderful room with a lovely view. Very neat and clean place and very helpful people. We were little late for the breakfast but they made sure to inform us before removing it and waited for us. So I can say they well look after each and every guest. Thank you guys and especially the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,305 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Address: 28 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing