We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, fantastic owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I chose the Hazelbank because of the location near the Old course and the University. I was delighted with the choice. The Hazelbank is a throughly modern hotel located on The Scores, one block to the Old Course, one block to the University. Our room was very large, very comfortable and very nice.
The owners were charming hosts who took excellent care of their guests. Michael was a fantastic host. Breakfast was excellent.
I will be back on my next trip to St Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfromlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
35
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just came back from very spontaneous bike trip to St Andrews. Amazing little town and lovely people. I have arrived to the town early evening and it took me quite a while to find a place to stay. Luckily i got to Hazelbank hotel. Lovely staff especially Michael and his father who run the business.Michael was extremely helpful and kind. I even got a wee discount just because i cycled all the way from Edinburgh :) how nice is that? The room was nice and clean. Breakfast nice as well and 2 lovely waitress couldn't be more attentive. I will come back at some point for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
standrews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was more like a bed & breakfast place but with highly inflated price.The rooms were clean with lovely views but very dated,required full redecoration.
The dining room staff were friendly and helpful but again the whole place needs upgrading.
The breakfast was nicely cooked but at these prices should have had much more choice.
We enjoyed our stay but were disappointed with the facilities,we would not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I booked the hotel for a family wedding and everyone who stayed there found it a great place. The rooms are at least as good as in a number of more highly-priced hotels in St Andrews and the sea views from four of them are wonderful. A number of hotels in the town suffer from over-heating and/or noise but Hazelbank does not. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly, The cleaning regime is exemplary! Breakfast is very good and service speedy and attentive. The location is perfect. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 3 or 7 - spacious with wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinRolvenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Beautiful views of the old course and the sea. Beautiful room. Excellent breakfast. Very clean and convenient parking. Nice folks at the hotel, particularly the nice young lady from colorado.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshecgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have stayed at The Hazelbank on at least 6 occassions and have always been more than happy with my stay. The staff are very helpful, the breakfasts plentiful and the location perfect.
The rooms are what you would expect from a B&B, comfortable without to many whistles and bells and they serve the purpose they are intended for, sleeping.
My only minor gripe would be that it is a touch pricey. But I'm sure if you ask the international visitors they would think otherwise. After all, it is St Andrews!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lovely sea view, friendly and helpful staff and a good breakfast but very overpriced and dated. Room was cramped and very dated, very low water pressure took forever to run a bath. Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Property: Hazelbank Hotel
Address: 28 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing