We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regretted the Booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Regretted the Booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

After reading the wonderful reviews, my husband and I (very keen golfers on our fourth trip to Scotland) settled for The Hazelbank, room 7, for 3 nights. As soon as we saw the room, we realized we had made a mistake. The room is not large by any means, it looks tired, the bathroom is very small, the lighting very poor. In other words, the room was not a place we wanted to be, which was a shame as the best thing about it was the view!

Michael and the staff were very kind, the breakfast very good and the hotel clean. Still, I would not recommend it because we found it to be bad value. We should have either upgraded to the more fancy Golf Hotel (next door at an additional 60 GBP) or downgraded to a nearby B&B (with a similar room and no view with a savings of 60 GBP). Unfortunately, once you book, you are locked in.

Please note that the hotel has no common area. There is a computer room which is very small and also very poorly lit. People go there for their internet needs (one at the time and it is free), but the computer is old and so its configurations. The library is a better bet (modern and free).

Just as a curiosity: every other hotel we stayed during our trip was immensely better and cheaper: Carnoustie Golf Hotel, Marine Golf Hotel in North Berwick and a B&B in Gullane.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maraberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
35
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

We had three rooms at the Hazelbank and found them to be quiet pleasant and very clean. We had one downstairs room for our elderly mother and it was nice since she didn't have to climb the stairs. Our other two rooms didn't have the view others talked about, but we were only there to sleep, so that didn't really matter. The bathrooms were very large with the lovely heated towel racks that I loved. Breakfast was very good and served by very friendly staff. It was located in a very convenient location for us and that was helpful. We also enjoyed drinks and dinner in the Russel Hotel next door. All in all, a great stay in St. Andrews.

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

We stayed at the Hazelbank for two nights in Oct. Ask for ROOM 3 or ROOM 7. Both are very large with bay windows looking out to the ocean. Really beautiful views. We had a wonderful time. Very quiet rooms. Great breakfast in very nice dining area. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Location is fabulous. Walk to the Old Course tee and walk to the center of town. Although there is no restaurant or bar at the Hazelbank, this means it is quiet. The pub in the Russel Hotel right next door is great. The Hazelbank has no elevator, no bell staff- you must carry your bags one or two flights of stairs to the rooms. Parking is on the street in front of the hotel. It was easy to find a place to park at this time of year, but might be a problem at busier times.
We would definitely return to the Hazelbank Hotel- at $175/night for two people in room #3 and breakfast for two, it was an excellent value.

  • Liked — location, large room with view
  • Disliked — steps
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for room #3 or room#7
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

We were fortunate enough to stay in the Hazelbank Hotel in July with three other couples for a golf trip. It was beautiful and clean and Michael was so accomodating in every way. The view from our room was overlooking St. andrews Bay and the Old Course. What could be more beautiful. It is close to everything and we never had to move our cars. The breakfasts were excellent and well served. we would recommend it highly!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Convenience to the attractions
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Hiawathatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

We stayed here in early April '06. A very nice property situated in downtown St. Andrews. You will be close to all that you likely will wish to see and do in the village of St. Andrews (we actually parked our car on the street out front and didn't touch it until we left 4 days later)!

Rooms were well maintained, serviced every day, and the front rooms overlook the West Sands Beach. The water pressure for the shower in our room was a bit weak, . . . but was usable. Breakfast each morning was freshly prepared to order in the small dining room, and the staff was simply outstanding!

We booked our golf package through the hotel and Michael was very patient with the many questions we asked prior to booking. As mentioned in an earlier review, there is a room off the front door for reading, club storage, and it has a computer for internet access for guests. Not published or listed, but the hotel also has wireless internet access which at the time we were there was open and we were able to connect via our laptop in our room. Ma Bells down the street also is a WiFi hot spot.

If you are looking for a small hotel in St. Andrews, whether it is for golf, sightseeing, visiting, etc., . . . I would highly recommend that you look at the Hazelbank as one of your options.

Might I also suggest that if you are looking for golf art/photos, . . . that you visit the gallery at the end of the street (towards the old course). I believe the shop is in the ground floor of the Scores hotel. Very nice proprietor and she will ship your purchases back for you.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

I recently returned from a stay at the Hazelbank Hotel in St. Andrews, Scotland and found it to be a wonderful experience. The service was excellent, the breakfast was plentiful and the waitstaff was very attentive. The rooms were beautifully appointed and very well maintained. The hotel was within easy walking distance for shopping, exploring, and golfing. An added bonus was a study off the entrance lobby with a computer that had free internet access. The only downside for someone might be the stairs, but you could request the first floor room in advance. I would definitely return and would highly recommend a visit with Michael and Marian Henretty, the proprietors.

Helpful?
6 Thank borntogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand island, new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

What a wonderful experience our group of 3 couples had staying at this small cozy hotel on October 20, 2005. The rooms themselves are decently appointed & clean but what's really special are the views of the sea, which are breathtaking, especially in the room with bay style window where we saw horseback riders at dawn walking the beach. You can even see The "Old Course" (2 min. walk) from the room! The breakfast was lovely & there is delicious food,drink & fun right next door at The Russell Hotel. The town is filled with welcoming pubs & shops. Last but not definately not least, the owners are so incredibly hospitable-they treated us like GOLD! We will never forget our wonderful visit & hope to return someday.

Helpful?
8 Thank wannabfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Property: Hazelbank Hotel
Address: 28 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing