We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot find enough complimentary superlatives to describe accommodation, location and the hosts”
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #15 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cannot find enough complimentary superlatives to describe accommodation, location and the hosts”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Lonely Planet put it down as their top pick for B&Bs in St Andrews; we also read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking - all were an understatement. It is without doubt the best B&B we have every stayed in - attention to detail both inside the property and the charming garden to the rear, is absolutely magnificent and this B&B is run by true professionals. Room was immaculate, exquisitely fitted out and the breakfasts are to die for - Jackie and Norman thank you so much for your hospitality and what you provided. You are being highly recommended to all our friends and to those that read Trip Advisor. Defy anyone to fault the place. It is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
70
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Wonderful experience, great hosts and fabulous location. From the beginnig of our booking with Jackie, she corresponded and made dinner reservations and followed up with us prior to our arrival. Her directions to her place and a place to park were invaluable. Our room on the first floor was a tight squeeze but clean and comfortable. Terrific breakfast and lovely B & B. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a 4 star experience without the huge hotel price tag.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

A perfect Place to stay. Wonderful location. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottl728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

5PP was the base for our annual Spring golf tour to Scotland from Matlock GC. For a small group like ours it's a perfect alternative to a hotel and all the previous reviews are accurate. Jackie and Norman are ideal hosts, both helpful and responsive ("Book a restaurant for you? No problem"; "Early start breakfast? Just ask"). Breakfast is a highlight with a menu that would rival a Michelin-starred venue - ranging from the 'full Scottish' to eggs benedict, reflecting the international clientele they attract - and it's all cooked freshly and personally for you. The decor throughout is designer-standard with lots of personal touches that speak of care and attention and the fittings are of the highest quality. My group voted it the best venues we've ever used, even compared to the Birchwood in Pitlochry last year which was a hard act to follow (see review). Anyone visiting St Andrews should consider 5PP instead of the big hotels.
For golfers, the location is ideal and they even have an equipment room to store all your clubs and gear saafely overnight. As the ex-pat Scottish organiser of our tours, it's always a risk choosing accommodation at a distance; 5 Pilmuir Place exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I stayed at 5 Pilmour Place for one night in mid September as part of a business trip. Communication before my stay was very good and I was warmly welcomed upon arrival and given help with directions to the restaurant I needed to make my way to. The B&B is well located in St Andrew's. My room was clean, very nicely decorated and well-appointed. The room was a little on the small side, as was the shower-room, although they were both adequate for a short stay. I understand, however, that some of the other rooms are much larger and probably better suited to a longer stay. The public rooms are also very nice. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order from a good menu. The hosts were friendly and eager to please. I didn't get to see very much of St Andrew's during my trip and so would like to go back for a longer stay. Should I do so, I would stay at 5 Pilmour Place again and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable place to stay.

  • Liked — Decor, food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Just returned from a short visit to St Andrews. Although there are hotels with better views (at a price) I doubt you would find a nicer place. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated and had all we needed. The communal lounge was very warm and welcoming. Our hosts were great and went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable.
Breakfast was fabulous, we have stayed at some top class hotels but this was freshly made for each guest - you just don't get this at large establishments.
Anyway - if you are in the area give it a try. I am sure you will love it.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank karenpepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We just returned from having spent a week in Scotland, with a long weekend in St. Andrews and loved our stay.We were there to visit our daughter who was studying at the University of St. Andrews and spent two nights at 5 Pilmour.

We were surprised to learn that the previous owners were Roberta and Sid, with whom we had been dealing,had sold the bed-and-breakfast and the new owners, Jackie and Norman, had just started operation that week.

Jackie and Norman could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Our room was beautiful and the location was great, in terms of proximity to the Old Course and to town and all that it had to offer.

There are plenty of places nearby to eat and you will certainly start your day off well fortified with the breakfast provided by Jackie and Norman. It was much more than we were used to eating.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 5 Pilmour, would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St. Andrews, and would definitely stay there, if we return to St. Andrews in the future.

JRM, Ocala, FL

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrm128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing