We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #14 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Just returned from a short visit to St Andrews. Although there are hotels with better views (at a price) I doubt you would find a nicer place. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated and had all we needed. The communal lounge was very warm and welcoming. Our hosts were great and went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable.
Breakfast was fabulous, we have stayed at some top class hotels but this was freshly made for each guest - you just don't get this at large establishments.
Anyway - if you are in the area give it a try. I am sure you will love it.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank karenpepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

We just returned from having spent a week in Scotland, with a long weekend in St. Andrews and loved our stay.We were there to visit our daughter who was studying at the University of St. Andrews and spent two nights at 5 Pilmour.

We were surprised to learn that the previous owners were Roberta and Sid, with whom we had been dealing,had sold the bed-and-breakfast and the new owners, Jackie and Norman, had just started operation that week.

Jackie and Norman could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Our room was beautiful and the location was great, in terms of proximity to the Old Course and to town and all that it had to offer.

There are plenty of places nearby to eat and you will certainly start your day off well fortified with the breakfast provided by Jackie and Norman. It was much more than we were used to eating.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 5 Pilmour, would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St. Andrews, and would definitely stay there, if we return to St. Andrews in the future.

JRM, Ocala, FL

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrm128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

We have just returned from a three days holidays at the 5Pilmour place in St Andrews and we loved it. This is a very well managed small Guest House.

The best is the location for golfers, the good decoration, the comfortable beds, the delicious breakfast, and of course the owners, Roberta and her husband, were very, very kind. It was a pleasure to meet them and have such a great stay.

  • Liked — Decoration, location, beds, breakfast, kindness
  • Disliked — The shower, a little faint
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaCaceresViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

Our golf group was there for 5 nights and absolutly loved it. The property is clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The beds are the best available. The owners, Sid and Roberta, are friendly and accomodating. Each morning, an "ordered" breakfast is prepared and the food is delicious. In addition, the location is in the heart of the golf action in St. Andrews.

  • Liked — Comfort and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wmtuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

This is the perfect spot for a golf group of 8. We had the entire house to ourselves. Most of us had our own rooms and the service and meals were terrific. Roberta and Sid are fabulous hosts (be sure to ask Roberta the Scottish definition of keeping your fanny in your pants). I have seen and stayed in several places in St. Andrews and it doesn't get better than Five Pilmour Place. Be sure to ask to try their wine (they own a vineyard in Australia).

  • Liked — location, hosts
  • Disliked — short showers...but to be fair I'm 6'2" and all of Scotland seems that way.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasGolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

My family needed two rooms and most places were booked up when we went (in the week between the two golf Opens) and all prices were very high. I booked us two 'budget doubles' at 5 Pilmour and was told they were small--she wasn't kidding. But, at £105 per night, it wasn't the highest price, believe it or not.
Rooms were clean and tidy, warm and with period features where they could. Great selection of teas and coffees and biccies for late at night. But, be warned, it is probably one of the noisiest B&Bs I've ever stayed in. We were right over the kitchen which for vegetarians is not the place to be when American golfers want their Scottish cooked breakfasts with bacon and sausages.
But the 'fasts were good, hot, filling and served by a very nice and generous hostess. (There were bottles of wine in the break. room, but we were never served wine in the afternoon/evening--may be a weekend thing or it's only there to tempt you.) The free internet access was a huge plus and would make me consider going back.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wuthering72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Great location and excellent breakfast. We had a group of seven golfers and had rented all six rooms. Roberta could not have been more accomodating. We stayed for four nights of our eight night trip. The location is beyond perfect. It is less than 200 yards to the 1st tee of the Old Course. It is right next door to the Dunvegan which is a great place to get a pint and have a meal. I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Low Water Pressure
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank USCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing