We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #16 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Five Pilmour Place for two nights as we had a wedding at The Old Course. It is a great location only about a five minute walk from the Old Course Hotel. Our room was in great condition and seemed like they had been upgraded recently. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty choice (although we missed breakfast the second morning due to bad hangovers!) I read another review saying this is like a boutique hotel rather than a B & B and I would certainly echo that. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We try to offer our guest(s) the best possible facilities, we are always striving to improve and appreciate when someone takes the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just spent one night at this excellent B & B. Five Pilmour Place is more like a small boutique hotel with its beautifully decorated guest rooms and bathrooms. In fact, the whole of this lovely Georgian house is immaculately maintained. The extra touches in our room (Room 4) included a selection of toiletries, sweets, and even a birthday card and bottle of fizz for my husband's 65th birthday. Jackie and Norman are superb hosts and helped to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious, beautifully presented and served, with butter, sugar, jams, etc in lovely little dishes - no annoying paper sachets! We also enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine in the newly laid-out back garden! Finally, the location is within easy walking distance of all that St Andrew's has to offer. We will definitely return for a longer stay and have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to the discerning traveller. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 on the top floor are beautiful king size doubles. The new garden rooms also look lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both back again in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This B&B has a great location, great hosts in Norman and Jacquie (sp?) and as is expected in B&B's lots of steps to the top rooms. Breakfast was worked out with early tee times, with packed breakfasts - very helpful for those who get 7:00 am tee times. Rooms 4 & 5 were very comfortable albeit a bit of a hike after a round of golf. New rooms are opening on the ground floor and one of those appears to be a nice double with out the hike. Rooms are lovely, well appointed, and have standard electric shower fixtures. Noise can sometimes run until midnight on the streets, but with double windows closed, it is abated greatly.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are the nicest, but it is two long flights of stairs. New rooms on ground floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our facilities, it is much appreciated. We do have a number stairs to most of our rooms either on first or second floor, however we have just opened two ground floor rooms within our private rear garden with seating areas right outside for guests to enjoy those long summer evenings, both are suited to couples or can be split for twin share to suit golfers etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this B&S for my daughter in May and she was over the moon with accommodation and the lovely breakfast. The owners were very pleasant and helpful and the overall standard was just superb. Would thoroughly recommend this B&B and would my daughter would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and hope that you may return to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The standard of this Hotel was outstanding from the quality of the bedding to the breakfast I found no fault. The position was perfect for the "old course" St Andrews. The hotel had no car park which caused no problem as many streets nearby have free parking . Jackie the owner could not have been more helpful. We will return!

Room Tip: No tip needed we had 4 rooms and all were ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillJack_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Guest House, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer the best facilities possible for our guests, however guest parking is not something we can offer, we can direct guests to the nearest available free parking a couple of minutes walk away and you can stop outside to drop off/pick up any luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough. Beautifully decorated and our bathroom was out of this world. The location is excellent, the attention to detail is superb and the owners couldn't be more friendly or helpful. My only slight criticism is that breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 am however check-out is not til 11am. Having said that the breakfast is more than worth getting up for and it wouldn't put me off staying there again. If you are thinking of booking this accommodation then do it. You won't regret it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is much appreciated. Our breakfast service is set at a time to suit everyone whether for golf, university etc, we appreciate that the times do not always suit everyone but we do try to cater for the majority and hope that having the later check-out time is beneficial to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, s yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 4 month old daughter stayed at Five Pilmour Place for 3 nights over Easter. This guest house is quite simply stunning. Our room was beautiful it was at the front of the property and was huge with a large en suite with roll top bath and walk through shower, we had plenty of room for our family and the owners could not do enough to ensure we were comfortable. The breakfast is an absolute delight with great choice and lovely local produce it was scrummy! The location of this guest house is perfect, only a short walk to the Old course (just around the corner) for my husband who was playing a round of golf and close to all the shops, restaurants etc for me and my little girl. We had an amazing first family holiday and It will not be our last visit.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tilly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again in St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing